Ancestry, Heritage, and Genealogy

To pin down documented facts relative to a specific historical question. This site provides a variety of techniques for conducting historical research.

The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia. CRDL is a partnership among librarians, technologists, archivists, educators, scholars, academic publishers, and public broadcasters. The initiative receives support through a National Leadership Grant for Libraries awarded to the University of Georgia by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color.

High quality map images, with emphasis on 19th and 20th century North and South America.

Our programs produce accurate geologic maps and 3-D geologic frameworks that provide critical data for sustaining and improving the quality of life and economic vitality of the Nation. They also organize, maintain, and publish the geospatial baseline of the Nation's topography, natural landscape, built environment and more.

For years, the United States has built its policy in the blind, without understanding how people are working, living, and getting by. The American Voices Project relies on immersive interviews to deliver an unusually comprehensive portrait of American life across all 50 states. The objective: To build 21st-century policy that's truly of the people, by the people, for the people.

The American Voices Project will thus start with a fact-finding census of 200 rural, suburban, and urban communities. We will interview 5,000 individuals across the country to understand their successes and struggles, their hopes and dreams, and their ideas for making our country work better.

Oral History at the American Folklife Center.