Ancestry, Heritage, and Genealogy

A complete and insightful guide for family research - good for the beginning genealogist.

Originally published in 1926. Reprinted 1967. Reprinted 1975 with a supplement from Genealogy magazine: a journal of American and British ancestry, vol. XIV, no. 4 (July 1929)-vol. XV, no. 3 (July 1930).

In Search of Your German Roots is designed to help you trace your German ancestry not only in Germany but in all the German-speaking areas of Europe, from the Baltic to the Crimea, from the Czech Republic to Belgium. And it is designed so that you seldom have to leave your own home. It shows you how to conduct your research by correspondence and how to work in your own home, at your own pace, using the resources of libraries and archives or the records of church and state.

Commercials for the largest subscription database indicate that the process of genealogy is simple you just plug in what you know, and the database does the rest Those ads might sell subscriptions, but they are misleading. Getting beyond that low-hanging fruit is not so easy; collecting the records and data needed to delineate a family tree accurately requires time, organization, and informed searching. Records are available from many places, and finding them is never a one-stop shopping experience. So how does the new researcher identify which resources meet his or her specific research needs? And how can libraries and librarians best help this new generation of genealogists? Genealogy: A Practical Guide for Librarians offers help on several levels: First, librarians can use this book to learn what resources, both print and online, their library should offer their patron base. This means not only what monographs to purchase and subscription databases to maintain, but what websites to highlight at the library s webpage, what to include in their online tutorials, what adult education programming is appropriate. Critical assessments of print and online resources are given, including the strengths and weaknesses that librarians need to help patrons understand them. Second, both librarians and researchers can find here an in-depth discussion of the research process itself, including the best steps for a beginning researcher and search strategies for the experienced one. And third, anyone can use this book to become better informed about the phenomenon of genealogy itself and about the latest standards for online searching and research. The book includes practical advice for every public-service librarian and offers all researchers, from novice level to experienced, a clearly delineated context for the popular subject of family history research."

An all-new edition of the bestselling guide to tapping the wealth of global digital ancestry records online and in printFully updated and revised, this is the only beginning genealogy book to address the different available record types along with both traditional and electronic research strategies in a comprehensive way. How to Do Everything: Genealogy explores basic rules of genealogical evidence, evaluation of source materials, research methods, and includes extensive guidance on Web-based research.New chapters cover: DNA-based records; using social networking sites to connect with family; and how blogs, podcasts, and videocasts can be effectively used by genealogists. The book has been updated to reflect: new and updated websites; improved strategies for locating, accessing, evaluating, and applying data; and the latest technological details-hardware, software, and other tools.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Break through brick walls in your genealogical research "Easy to read, provides clear explanations, examples and is well-illustrated, thus definitely meeting the needs of libraries and individuals seeking a book to guide family historians who are beyond the basics and need help solving problems."--FORUM magazine Learn how to use innovative methods to unearth hard-to-find ancestors. Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques shows you, step by step, how to uncover elusive details by taking advantage of specialized tools and software programs and using proven best practices for breaking through the brick walls that have hindered your progress. You'll get professional advice on formulating a research strategy, understanding the details you discover, keeping careful track of your data, analyzing the evidence, and developing hypotheses. Real-world case studies demonstrate how you can apply the systematic procedures presented in this practical guide to your own research--and achieve success! Examine the brick wall in detail to find potential weak spots that can be exploited into a breakthrough Use brute force techniques that leave no stone unturned Obtain exact copies of original records rather than derivative sources Research the family, associates, and neighbors (FANs) of your brick wall ancestor Consult with your family, friends, and colleagues to get a fresh perspective on your research Use crowdsourcing--genealogy societies, online forums, social media, blogs, wikis, and podcasts Apply technological solutions, including DNA testing and specialized genealogical software Get tips on hiring a professional genealogical researcher with the appropriate credentials and references Revisit your brick wall problem after honing your research skills Review your evidence, develop a research strategy, and keep a meticulous research log

The modern world of genealogy combines the traditional methods of research with the awesome power of computers and the Internet, a combination so powerful that it has transformed the way we do genealogy. The purpose of this book, therefore, is to train the researcher in this new methodology, tying the fundamentals of genealogical research to the infrastructure of computers and web sites. In other words, it is a manual for modern genealogy--designed for the beginner but useful even to the most seasoned researcher.

Discover your Irish roots! Trace your Irish ancestors from American shores back to the Emerald Isle. This in-depth guide from Irish genealogy expert Claire Santry will take you step-by-step through the exciting--and challenging--journey of discovering your Irish roots. You'll learn how to identify immigrant ancestor, find your family's county and townland of origin, and locate key genealogical resources that will breathe life into your family tree. With historical timelines, sample records, resource lists, and detailed information about where and how to find your ancestors online, this guide has everything you need to uncover your Irish heritage. In this book, you'll find: The best online resources for Irish genealogy Detailed guidance for finding records in the old country, from both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland Helpful background on Irish history, geography, administrative divisions, and naming patterns Case studies that apply concepts and strategies to real-life research problems Whether your ancestors hail from the bustling streets of Dublin or a small town in County Cork, The Family Tree Irish Genealogy Guide will give you the tools you need to track down your ancestors in Ireland.

The new and expanded fourth edition of this best-selling guide (over 150,000 copies sold ) to genealogy provides readers with the tools and information they need to jump into this great American hobby. Unpuzzling Your Past, 4th edition focuses on fundamental strategies for success, questions to ask, places for research, and interesting examples of each step along the way. Throughout, readers will find techniques and suggestions for: Taping family documents, oral tradition and memories; Exploring the vast array of U.S. public records, from newspapers and tombstones to censuses and land records; Getting the most from names, dates and handwriting of the past; Developing a first-rate and meaningful family history; Well-organized, well-written and comprehensive, this guide offers readers charts, illustrations, reference sidebars, bibliographies, a glossary, and useful, reproducible forms. Each chapter is capped with a list of Things to Do Now to encourage readers or students to apply what they have learned.

FROM THE PUBLISHERS OF FAMILY CHRONICLE MAGAZINE. SOLVING GENEALOGY PROBLEMS.

Federal censuses have been taken every ten years since 1790. They are the best known and most commonly used of all genealogical records and have the unique ability to identify virtually anyone born in the last 250 years. Because they are so extensive, the careful researcher should be able to find almost every individual and family being sought. But where are these records located? How do you access them and how do you use them? Moreover, with such a wealth of information as name, age, sex, birthplace, and family relationships, what are their limitations? These questions and more are answered by professional genealogist Kory Meyerink in this addition to our popular Genealogy at a Glance series. Today, most census research is conducted online, with census images and indexes available from both subscription-based and non-subscription-based websites. Not all websites have a complete collection of census records, of course, and Meyerink identifies the censuses that are available from each website and the nature of the indexes, which are usually linked to the online image of the census page where the individual appears. (All censuses older than 72 years have been indexed, and the recently released 1940 census is in process of being indexed.)

Unlock new records in your family history research by understanding the historic events of your ancestors' eras. This quick and convenient guide outlines the major political, military and social events in the United States from the colonial era through 1940. It also includes immigration trends and census dates to help you narrow your research focus and find genealogy records faster. Use The Genealogist's U.S. History Pocket Reference to find: Timelines, charts, quick lists and maps of major events. Popular foods, songs and books of each era. Timelines of wars and other military events. Dates for federal, state and special censuses. Immigration data including major ports and countries of origin. ...and so much more! Stash this indispensable book in your computer case, tote bag or, yes, your pocket, and take it with you wherever you research.

Maximize Your Research Progress! Harness the powerful, timesaving organization features of Evernote's free software and mobile apps to manage your genealogy research. This comprehensive user guide explains how to organize all kinds of genealogy clues--from notes and e-mails to vital records and audio files--so the information is easily searchable, accessible on any device, and automatically backed up in the cloud. Step-by-step instructions show you how to file research materials, analyze research clues, collaborate with cousins, and share your family history. In this book, you'll find Evernote tips and strategies specifically for genealogy researchers, with real-life examples Step-by-step instructions for managing different types of genealogy information, from research notes to document images to web clippings Tricks for using Evernote to speed up research tasks, including transcription and research logs Suggestions to search-optimize your Evernote data so your information is easy to find Ideas for enhancing Evernote with external apps Tips to protect your data and troubleshoot common issues Worksheets to help you organize your notebooks and stacks Whether you're an Evernote newbie or dedicated user, How to Use Evernote for Genealogy will change your research life by showing you how this free tool can make you a better, more efficient genealogist.

Master the world's #1 genealogy website and discover the secrets to Ancestry.com success! This book, updated in 2016 to include the most recent changes to the site, will help you get the most out of your Ancestry.com subscription by showing you how to take advantage of all the world's biggest genealogy website has to offer--and how to find answers to your family tree questions within its 14 billion records, 60 million family tree and 32,000 databases. What you'll learn: Step-by-step strategies for structuring your searches to find what you're looking for faster How to drill down to specific records, time periods and topics using the card catalog Details on each of Ancestry.com's historical record collections, including what you can expect to find in them--and when you need to look elsewhere Tips for creating and managing your family tree on Ancestry.com, as well as connecting your tree to others on the site Timesaving tricks to maximize your Ancestry.com Hints (the "shaky leaf"), Tree Sync with Family Tree Maker, and the Ancestry.com mobile app Each chapter includes step-by-step examples with illustrations to show you exactly how to apply the techniques to your genealogy. Whether you've just begun dabbling in family history or you're a longtime Ancestry.com subscriber, this book will turn you into an Ancestry.com power user!

Over 75,000 men from Iowa served in the Civil War. Today their descendants number in the hundreds of thousands if not millions. Researching one's ancestry is a great American obsession. So is our curiosity about the Civil War. Anyone can uncover the thrilling, maybe less than thrilling, story of their ancestor's service in the Civil War. Contain in this book are the how to's and where to's of discovering the complete story of your ancestor's plight in the Civil War.

With the same genetic haplotype as many white American males, Webster makes an ideal subject--he is a genuine Everyman. While his voice and spirit are unique to him, in exploring his own ancestry, he shows us our own. Drawing on National Geographic's Genographic Project, the largest anthropologic DNA study of its kind, Webster traces centuries of migrations, everywhere finding members of his now far-flung genetic family. In Tanzania's Rift Valley, he hunts with Julius, whose tribe speaks a click language, and wanders the ruins of ancient Mesopotamia with Mohamed and Khalid, now Jordanian citizens. In Samarkand, Uzbekistan, eastern frontier of his ancestral roaming, a circus ringmaster becomes both friend and link to his primal bloodline. Webster's genographic quest leads him to contemplate what traits he shares with those he meets, and considers what they and their ways of life reveal about the deep history of our species. A lifetime of journalistic travels among a wide range of cultures furnish Webster with a wealth of colourful threads to weave into a story as particularly personal as it is universally human.

America...the golden land of freedom, hope and opportunity held its immigration doors wide open. A multitude of German-Russians were enticed by what the country had to offer. Their ancestors had been lured to the Volga River Region of Russia by Catherine the Great's manifesto of 1763. By the late 1800s, many of those promises and privileges no longer held true. Trouble was looming on the horizon for them. Begin the journey in 1911 and visit the German-Russian villages of Volmer, Pfeifer and Schuck, Russia. Meet four German-Russian families, the Ertles, Gartners, Lambrechts and Hochnadels, who packed up their worldly belongings in trunks and said their final goodbyes to family members staying behind. Sail with them as lowly steerage passengers on steamships. Accompany the exhausted, confused travelers through the immigration ports of Ellis Island, Boston and Philadelphia. Ultimately, the four families planted deep roots in northeastern Colorado where the land and climate reminded them of Russia.

* A New York Times Notable Book * "The richest, freshest, most fun book on genetics in some time." --The New York Times Book Review We are doomed to repeat history if we fail to learn from it, but how are we affected by the forces that are invisible to us? In The Invisible History of the Human Race Christine Kenneally draws on cutting-edge research to reveal how both historical artifacts and DNA tell us where we come from and where we may be going. While some books explore our genetic inheritance and popular television shows celebrate ancestry, this is the first book to explore how everything from DNA to emotions to names and the stories that form our lives are all part of our human legacy. Kenneally shows how trust is inherited in Africa, silence is passed down in Tasmania, and how the history of nations is written in our DNA. From fateful, ancient encounters to modern mass migrations and medical diagnoses, Kenneally explains how the forces that shaped the history of the world ultimately shape each human who inhabits it. The Invisible History of the Human Race is a deeply researched, carefully crafted and provocative perspective on how our stories, psychology, and genetics affect our past and our future.