Ancestry, Heritage, and Genealogy

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most complete and current guide to successful online genealogy Conduct effective genealogical research using the experttechniques and innovative tools in this fully updated, bestselling resource. Genealogy Online, Tenth Edition reveals new research breakthroughs, such as DNA testing, and covers the latest ancestry-related websites, blogs, networks, and social media services. You'll find out how to begin your search, locate specific types of genealogical information on the Web, and efficiently use a wide variety of online tools. Proven methods for recording, organizing, analyzing, and sharing data are provided. Maximize the state-of-the-art genealogy resources available online and connect to researchers worldwide with help from this practical, up-to-date guide. Choose the right genealogy software for your project Record, organize, save, and back up your data Ensure accuracy, privacy, and copyright compliance Conduct targeted Internet searches using Boolean terms Connect to other researchers in real-time using Twitter, Skype, IM, and Google Use social networking services, including Facebook,LinkedIn, Google+, Pinterest, and MeetUp Create your own genealogy blog and tag it for search engine optimization Use DNA testing to find living and past relatives Search vital statistics through the National Archives and Records Administration, the Library of Congress, andother resources Access online library card catalogs and services Tap into international and ethnic genealogy resources Publish your research in print and on the Web

An excellent starting point for both reference librarians and for library users seeking information about family history and the lives of others, this resource is drawn from the authoritative database of Guide to Reference, voted Best Professional Resource Database by Library Journal readers in 2012. Biographical resources have long been of interest to researchers and general readers, and this title directs readers to the best biographical sources for all regions of the world. For interest in the lives of those not found in biographical resources, this title also serves as a guide to the most useful genealogical resources. Profiling more than 1400 print and electronic sources, this book helps connect librarians and researchers to the most relevant sources of information in genealogy and biography.

Part encyclopedia, part dictionary, part almanac - Jonathan Scott's Dictionary of Family History doesn't claim to be exhaustive, but it is practical, easy to use, entertaining and genuinely informative. It is the kind of book you can dip into or use as a starting point for deeper study, and it is the essential companion for experienced family historians and for anyone who is approaching this fascinating subject for the first time. Thousands of A to Z entries are full of intriguing facts. There are definitions, timelines and terminologies, details of archives and websites as well as advice on research methods and explanations of genealogical peculiarities and puzzles that would test the knowledge of even veteran researchers. Longer entries explaining the mechanics of the first census and other major sources and records rub shoulders with simple one-line definitions of obscure terms, useful addresses and signposts to little-known but rewarding corners of family, local and social history. This concise, clear and wide-ranging compendium of helpful, sometimes surprising information is a valuable reference tool for everyone in the field.

A Man Comes from Someplace: Stories, History, Memory from a Lost Time is a cultural study of a multi-generational Jewish family from a shtetl in southwestern Ukraine before World War I to their international lives in the 21st century. The narrative, told from multiple perspectives, becomes a transformative space for re-presenting family stories as cultural performance. The study draws from many sources: ethnographic interviews with an oral storyteller (the author's father), family letters, papers from immigration and relief organizations of the 1920s, eyewitness reports, newspaper clippings, photographs, maps, genealogy, and cultural, historical, and literary research. The book investigates the ways family stories can be collected, interpreted, and re-presented to situate story in history and to re-envision connections between the past, present, and future. Family stories become memory sites for interrogating questions of loss and displacement, exile, immigration, survival, resilience, and identity. Stories function as antidotes to trauma, a means of making sense of the world. Memory is an act of resistance, the refusal to be silenced or erased, the insistence that we know the past and remember those who came before.