LibGuides: Ancestry, Heritage, and Genealogy: Genealogy Online Resources

Genealogy Resources

Genealogy and Family History from USA.gov
Free resources.
Genealogy Research Links from the National Archive
Genealogy Resources from the National Archive
Free tools for Researchers.
Local History and Genealogy Reference from the LIbrary of Congress
Resources for Genealogists from the National Archive
Learn how you can use the resources at the National Archives to explore your family's ancestry.
Start Your Genealogy Research from the National Archive
From the Research Topics pages, you will find links to pages throughout the website with articles, finding aids, and other helpful information to help you prepare for your genealogical research at the National Archives. The records in our holdings that are most commonly used by genealogists include: Census Records, Military Records, Immigration Records (Ship Passenger Lists), Naturalization Records, and Land Records.
Tips for Genealogical Research in the Library of Congress Online Catalog
Iowa Genealogical Society
Research Links on the Internet from the Iowa Genealogy Society

Genealogy Research Online Resources from Ellis Island

Genealogy Tips from Ellis Island
As with so many activities, a little preparation can go a long way. For many, the first instinct is to jump online, but if you can discipline yourself to do a little offline sleuthing beforehand, you’ll ultimately go a lot further a lot faster. Investigate the clues you’ve probably got tucked away in your attic, closets and basement and call your older relatives (think of them as witnesses to your family history), and you’ll avoid getting stumped or derailed early on. Here are some ideas and strategies to help you get off to a solid start, as well as dodge common pitfalls.
Ellis Island Passenger List Search
Explore our vast database of 65 million passenger records.
Ship Searches from Ellis Island
Search The Wall Of Honor at Ellis Island

FamilySearch

FamilySearch is a free genealogy organization operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (also known as the LDS Church). It was previously known as the Genealogical Society of Utah (or "GSU") and is the largest genealogy organization in the world. FamilySearch maintains a collection of records, resources, and services designed to help people learn more about their family history. FamilySearch gathers, preserves, and shares genealogical records worldwide. It offers free access to its resources and service online at FamilySearch.org, one of the most heavily used genealogy sites on the Internet. In addition, FamilySearch offers personal assistance at more than 4,500 family history centers in 70 countries, including the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.

FamilySearch
Create a free account to access records. You can also add or create new records.

Ancestry.com

Ancestry is a paid self-services for investigating your genealogy.

Ancestry.com

Census

United States Census
Genealogy from the US Census
Search for your family in each census (conducted every 10 years). The Census will list ages, names, and relationships. Although censuses are a source of genealogical information, the Census Bureau does not provide these data. The Census Bureau is not able to locate missing persons, or provide recent information on individuals. By law, personally identifiable information collected for a decennial census is released to the public after 72 years. The National Archives released the 1940 census on April 2, 2012. Learn more about your family history from census records.

Ancestry, Heritage, and Genealogy

Iowa History and Genealogy Guide

History Guide

Librarian

Search Tips

Genealogy Resources

Genealogy Research Online Resources from Ellis Island

FamilySearch

Ancestry.com

Census