Faculty Library Guide

How to Use this Page

This resource is for faculty members to either:

• Understand what will be taught in a Library Instruction session, or
• Use the resources provided by the library in order to teach this lesson in their own classroom.

Want the Lessons Below?

Wish your students could hear this lesson, but don't feel ready to present it yourself?
Contact Oscar DeLong at odelong@iowalakes.edu or @7936 to have the librarian teach one of the following lessons, or another that you'd prefer at a time and date convenient to you and your students.

OBJECTIVE:

The first and second year students will demonstrate successful acquisition of library resources to meet the objectives of their writing or research assignments, including but not limited to: research utilizing library and online resources and citation methods as required by their professor.

LESSON DURATION:

Approximately 45 minutes.

VOCABULARY:

Summary, Quotation, Paraphrase, Database, Article, eBook, Catalog, Plagiarism, Keyword Search

MATERIALS REQUIRED:

Computer for student usage, internet access. Helpful: smart tv or projector and screen for presentation.

PROCEDURES for Session One:

1. (1 minute) Begin students on College webpage: https://www.iowalakes.edu/student-services/library/
2. (1 minute) Lead students to Library homepage by clicking on Library under Current Students tab.
3. (2 minutes) Review Staff (for asking questions), Tools (for more information on tools offered by Library), and Database Tutorials (for demonstrations of specific databases). Allow students to explore during open period at end of class.
4. (4 minutes) Click on Find Books & Videos. Explain that this is where users can find books at either Emmetsburg or Estherville libraries, other Iowa Libraries and from around the globe.
   1. Books may be sent from Emmetsburg to Estherville or vice versus free of charge and usually in a day or two.
   2. Books may be sent from other Iowa Libraries free of charge by using SILO. This process can take a couple of weeks.
   3. Books may be found from anywhere (and borrowed free of charge) using WorldCat.
5. (6 minutes) Click on Subject Guides and explain that Subject Guides are created for students to access all library and online resources related to a specific subject area. Then click on https://iowalakes.libguides.com to open the Subject Guides list. Have students peruse the variety of topics covered. Click on the Business Guide to demonstrate the areas of a guide. Click on each tab. Each Guide may contain: terminology (Home), Careers (provides resources for deciding on a career in that field), Books, eBooks, Articles, Online Resources, and Professional Organizations.
6. (5 minutes) Click on Databases & eBooks. Scroll down page pointing out the various Vendors. The list is divided by vendor and has a short description of each. Emphasize that the Vendors own many databases in much the same way that Coke and Pepsi own many different food companies.
7. (5 minutes) Click on EBSCO eBooks. Explain the features described below. These features are the same in all EBSCO products.

8. (3 minutes) On the Database page, click on CREDO. Enter a search term, demonstrating the list of resources and the Search Limiters on the left. Click on Mind Map under Browse CREDO. This feature allows the user to see related topics surrounding the searched topic.

           9. (6 minutes) On the Database page, click on EBSCO and then Academic Search Elite (first database listed).

10. (5 minutes) Click on "Subject Terms". Use the "Browsing" feature to demonstrate keyword searches and narrower, broader, and related searches. Explain that each Database has its own set of correct terminology and how they must determine the right keywords if they are to find the best results. Sometimes this feature is also called, "Thesaurus", "Subjects" or some similar term. Not all Databases have this feature. I compare database terminology to the difference in dialect between regions.

11. (Remaining time) Use this time to allow students to conduct their own searches, answering questions as they arise.

OBJECTIVE:

The first and second year students will demonstrate successful acquisition of library resources to meet the objectives of their writing or research assignments, including but not limited to: research utilizing library and online resources and citation methods as required by their professor.

LESSON DURATION:

Approximately 45 minutes.

VOCABULARY:

Summary, Quotation, Paraphrase, Database, Article, eBook, Catalog, Plagiarism, Keyword Search

MATERIALS REQUIRED:

Computer for student usage, internet access, handouts: Citations and Avoiding Plagiarism. Helpful: smart tv or projector and screen for presentation.

PROCEDURES for Session Two:

1. (1 minute) Begin students on College webpage: https://www.iowalakes.edu/student-services/library
2. (1 minute) Lead students to Library homepage by clicking on Library under Current Students tab.
3. (1 minute) Click on Subject Guides and explain that Subject Guides are created for students to access all library and online resources related to a specific subject area. Then click on https://iowalakes.libguides.com to open the Subject Guides list.
4. (4 minutes--plus handout time) Click on Writing Resources. Have students peruse the Guide. For students unfamiliar with basic forms of citations: summary, paraphrase, and quoting, please give students Just the Basics Citations handout (5 minutes). For more in-depth understanding, please give them the Avoiding Plagiarism handout (5 minutes). (Both handouts are on the left side of this page.)
5. (8 minutes) Go to Using Journal Articles. Explain that a Database is a place to store Journal Articles, like an electronic filing cabinet. Explain that Scholarly means that the author is an expert in the subject area. Peer-reviewed means that the paper was reviewed by another expert in the field. A Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed article is a high quality paper published in an Academic Journal. A journal is different from a magazine. A magazine is glossy and sold at the local supermarket, costs a few dollars, and is written by journalists. Journalists are experts at writing and interview famous people or experts in a subject and write what they find. They are not experts in the topic. But a journal is not glossy and cannot be purchased locally. It would cost about $50 for one article, not the whole journal. But they are freely available from our databases. They are written by experts in the field, such as a cancer researcher writing about her experiment with a new drug. (From that page):

Abstract

An Abstract is a brief summary written by the author of a paper. It provides a short background and the conclusions of the research. Not all papers contain an Abstract. If one is provided, most Databases will post this Abstract in the Entry page (what opens when you click on the Article's link). Read this section to decide whether or not you want to continue reading.

Introduction

Most papers will provide an introduction to the topic being discussed. It might discussed the history of the topic, previous research, and related topics. You should read this section to gain a background of the topic. You can skim sections that are unrelated to your topic.

Literature Review

Some articles will also have a Literature Review that describes previous research on the topic. You can use this section to find other sources to use in your paper as well. Some online articles will provide hyperlinks to these articles, but all will provide the citation necessary for you to find the articles yourself. If you cannot find an article, please contact library staff. We can usually order the article through Inter-Library Loan at no cost to you. Give staff a week or so to find the article as we have to rely on librarians at other institutions to send it to us.

Methodology

The Methodology provides exactly how the researchers conducted the research for the article. For example, if a doctor is researching a new cancer drug for treating patients, the doctor will publish the results from their research.

You do NOT need to read this section, unless instructed by your professor. Researchers can use this section to determine the credibility of the research. As you are not an expert in research or the field of study, then it may be unhelpful and even confusing for you to read through it. It is important that if you do read this section, consider looking up words that are unfamiliar to you.

Findings/Conclusion/Results

Read this section. It describes what the researchers found within their study. This is the heart of the article. It is the most important section.

Important Tips:

1. Google terms if you are unsure of which terms to search for (if the database does not offer what is discussed in Tip 5).
2. Use the Subject Terms, Thesaurus, Terms or related tools (usually at the top of the page). This will allow you find the terms that databases uses for any topic. It can also help you to narrow your focus if you are having trouble.
3. Search in multiple databases.
4. Some databases will allow you to Sign In. This will allow you to save your searches and view them at a later date (very helpful if you conduct the research on multiple days, or want to review articles for a different project). The Sign-in is usually at the top of the page.
5. Some databases will offer "Related Searchers" or something similar. This can provide articles similar to ones that you find that fit your needs.
6. Use the Search feature within the article to find the parts most related to your research. If it doesn't have a search feature, simply hit "Control F" to open the Find feature on your browser (Command F on a Mac).

6. (Remainder of class) Go to the Citations Guide. Explain how to make a hanging indent (from Guide). Use the APA or MLA pages to demonstrate proper citation format.

coming soon. . .