Business

AccountingCoach.com was launched in 2003 to help people throughout the world learn, refresh, and deepen their understanding of introductory accounting and bookkeeping at no cost. The free website (option #1) contains explanations, quizzes, Q&A, and more for 30 major topics. On the website we have posted the 2,023 testimonials we received because our materials are easier to understand than accounting textbooks costing hundreds of dollars.

AnnualReports.com (a division of IR Solutions) is the most complete and up-to-date listing of Annual Reports online. We are Americas largest annual report service. Our directory is a free Internet service that will enable potential investors to review a company's annual report in an easy convenient manner. Presently, investors obtain information on a company or fund by contacting the investor relations department and requesting a copy to be sent via traditional mail or by visiting their corporate web site on the Internet. But if you're researching several companies at once, you can save time by getting free reports from AnnualReports.com.

All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. NAICS was developed under the auspices of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. It was developed jointly by the U.S. Economic Classification Policy Committee (ECPC), Statistics Canada.

Entrepreneurship students can expect to take a variety of classes intended to provide the basis of a broad understanding of business practices and procedures. The coursework of entrepreneurship is often split between conventional business studies topics (marketing, accounting and management) and courses intended to foster the entrepreneurial spirit (identifying opportunities, locating funding sources and developing an entrepreneurial mindset).

The Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) was organized in 1937 to improve the quality of state tax administration by providing services to state tax authorities and administrators. These services include research and information exchange, training, and intergovernmental and interstate coordination.

Basic information on a company's initial public offering (IPO).

As the founder of the U.S. equity markets, the New York Stock Exchange has a 220+ year track record of supporting IPOs and innovating in the capital markets. NYSE-Listed companies enjoy a host of benefits including our unique market model, innovative visibility opportunities and cutting-edge technology solutions. These advantages continue to attract many of the world’s leading companies year after year.

Self-reports, so use cautiously.

Free Annual Reports service from the London Stock Exchange FREE Annual Reports Service provides you with free information on the performance and intentions of over 1,300 listed companies, helping you to get a thorough understanding before you invest. For serious investors, no research tool is more valuable than a company’s annual report.

This Free online research tool links you to listed company information. We provide company information including Financial Reports, Webcasts & Press Releases.

The first section on this page lists some key starting points. The rest of the page is organised by continent and then country and concentrates on what is available at the online registry web sites. Where I have not been able to identify an online registry, there are links to other sources that give information on legal forms and filing requirements.

Use the NAICS code for your industry from the link below in your search.

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.

Follows 20 "defense-essential" industries.

These Audit Techniques Guides (ATGs) help IRS examiners during audits by providing insight into issues and accounting methods unique to specific industries. While ATGs are designed to provide guidance for IRS employees, they’re also useful to small business owners and tax professionals who prepare returns. ATGs explain industry-specific examination techniques and include common, as well as, unique industry issues, business practices and terminology. Guidance is also provided on the examination of income, interview techniques and evaluation of evidence. So they may be helpful for business and tax planning purposes.

Over 100 industry pages are available.

Industry & Analysis’ (I&A) staff of industry, trade and economic analysts devise and implement international trade, investment, and export promotion strategies that strengthen the global competitiveness of U.S. industries. These initiatives unlock export, and investment opportunities for U.S. businesses by combining in-depth quantitative and qualitative analysis with ITA’s industry relationships.

CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.

Information on businesses without paid employees.

Tax court and memorandum opinions since September 1995.

Mutual funds and other registered management investment companies are required to disclose each year how they vote proxies relating to portfolio securities they hold. Not later than August 31st of each year, a mutual fund must file with the SEC a report known as Form N-PX, containing the fund’s complete proxy voting record for the most recent 12-month period ended June 30th. Funds were required to file their first Form N-PX not later than August 31, 2004.

Includes articles, case studies, and interviews.

Articles, glossary, and links.

TiE Global is a nonprofit venture devoted to entrepreneurs in all industries, at all stages, from incubation, throughout the entrepreneurial lifecycle. With a global reach and a local focus, the heart of TiE efforts lies in its five foundational programs, – Mentoring, Networking, Education, Funding, and Incubation.

NFIB is America’s leading small business association, promoting and protecting the right of our members to own, operate, and grow their businesses. If you’re an independent business owner, join NFIB today to enjoy exclusive member discounts, business networking opportunities in your local area, free HR support for your business and much more! Check out NFIB’s free online business resources, read about our latest advocacy efforts and discover how NFIB is working to protect the rights of small business owners coast to coast. Each day, we publish brand-new business resources to help you succeed and grow your business, including tips for business success, information on how the newest laws affect you, innovative business ideas and more.

CEO’s mission is to inform, support and inspire college students to be entrepreneurial and seek opportunity through enterprise creation.

AEO’s mission is to create economic opportunity for underserved entrepreneurs by supporting the development of strong and effective initiatives to assist them in starting, stabilizing and expanding businesses.

World's largest stock exchange.

Links to articles, briefs, and news on business, finance, and investing.

Sample business plans, research articles, and advice.

Our directory of carefully hand-selected resources was created to help you build, grow, and run your venture. Please feel free to send us feedback or suggest additional resources that we may have missed!

Includes some free and some subscription content.

International statistics with some data back to 1960. Includes more than 900 development indicators for over 200 countries covering economic policy and debt, education, environment, financial sector, health, infrastructure, labor and social protection, poverty, private sector and trade, and public sector.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

QuickFacts data are derived from: Population Estimates, American Community Survey, Census of Population and Housing, Current Population Survey, Small Area Health Insurance Estimates, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, State and County Housing Unit Estimates, County Business Patterns, Nonemployer Statistics, Economic Census, Survey of Business Owners, Building Permits.

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

As part of its ongoing effort to educate and inform, the International Business Ethics Institute regularly undertakes research projects in the fields of business ethics and corporate responsibility. Institute research projects are designed to provide relevant and practical information to help corporations and the general public evaluate past and current business practices and to help guide business behavior as we move into the future.