Open Access Materials

Provides a variety of open textbooks on arts, business, education, health, recreation, tourism, sciences, social sciences, support resources, and trades.

Bookboon's free online textbooks for students are focused and to the point. They are all written by highly respected professors from top universities in the world and cover topics such as economics, statistics, IT, engineering and natural science.

This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless. In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations.

CaltechAUTHORS contains research publications by Caltech faculty and other Caltech researchers. Most items in CaltechAUTHORS are articles, but there are also books, book chapters, conference papers and more. The repository is updated continuously as departments and library staff add available and recently published documents.

The Chemistry LibreTexts library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books. The LibreTexts project is currently directed by UC Davis Professor and project Founder Delmar Larsen.

Middle and high school level textbooks in science, math, engineering, and nanoscience.

From the California State University, Merlot collection, and those under Creative Commons License: Arts, business, education, humanities, mathematics and statistics, science and technology, social science, and academic support.

GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials. This repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia which aims to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribute to their retention, progression, and graduation. For more about Affordable Learning Georgia, visit Affordable Learning Georgia's website. Most works hosted in GALILEO Open Learning Materials have a Creative Commons license, allowing the reuse, redistribution, remix, and revision of these materials.

The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community. All the materials in MERLOT are reviewed for suitability for retention in the collection. Many undergo the more extensive "peer review" for which MERLOT is famous. MERLOT presents annual awards for various categories of materials added to or used in the collection.

MI Open Books have been written and created by Michigan teachers as part of the TRIG grant. During the 2014-15 School Year 4 titles were released. During the 2015-16 school year we are developing titles for 3rd Grade Michigan Studies, 7th Grade Ancient World, 8th Grade United States, HS United States, and HS Civics.

This page is an index to the online textbooks in MIT OpenCourseWare. Each link below goes to a course or resource page that contains the textbook files. Some of these online textbooks are open-licensed electronic versions of print books. Others are self-published online books, or course notes which are so thorough that they serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.
Topics: Aeronautics; astronautics; civil and environmental engineering; earth, atmospheric, and planetary sciences; electrical engineering, computer science; engineering; global studies and languages; health sciences and technology; institute for data, systems and society; materials science and engineering; mathematics; mechanical engineering, media arts and sciences; nuclear science and engineering, physics; and sloan school of management.

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. We offer more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings. The NSDL collection contains structured descriptive information (metadata) about web-based educational resources held on other sites by their providers. These providers have contribute this metadata to NSDL for organized search and open access to educational resources via this website and its services. Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource).

The Diener Education Fund (DEF) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization founded with the mission of re-imagining higher education to better serve the changing needs of students and professors. The focus of the DEF is on making information -- especially of the type found in textbooks -- widely available to people of all backgrounds. This mission is embodied in the Noba Project. Noba is a free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks and educational materials. These textbooks and materials are licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License. Users may reuse, redistribute, and remix the content to suit their needs.

he North Carolina Learning Object Repository (NCLOR) collects documents, audio/video clips, simulations, learning modules, assessments, and more – virtually any type of learning resource that can be digitized and processed. Teachers from around the state can then search the NCLOR, find materials appropriate to the classes they are teaching, and use them as is or modify them to suit their needs. This concept of sharing and reusing is the core of the NCLOR philosophy. Teachers can become more productive and efficient. If quality course or digital materials exist and are free for North Carolina faculty, why reinvent the wheel?

Computer or technology ebooks.

Applied science; arts and humanities; education; history; life science; mathematics; physical science; social science; and by a variety of grade levels.

"OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others. Open educational resources include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge."

All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements, making them seamlessly adaptable into existing courses. Our open source textbooks are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields. OpenStax textbooks undergo a rigorous peer review process. You can view the list of contributors when you click on each book.

Open SUNY Textbooks (OST) is the open textbook publishing program from which SUNY OER Services evolved. OST offers peer-reviewed open texts that can be immediately adopted and easily customized via the SUNY OER Services editing platform.

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

This collection offers open books and textbooks from many sources. An open textbook is one that can be freely viewed, downloaded, and self-printed.They may also have non-restrictive licenses that allow for customization and derivative works. Browse the full list of books, view the textbooks provided in the subtopic folders listed below, or use the 'Filter' function to narrow your search using keywords.

The open textbooks on this page include several titles published through Saylor Academy’s Open Textbook Challenge and a collection of titles re-published by Saylor Academy in 2012.

At Siyavula, community is at the heart of our content development processes, which are open, transparent, iterative and collaborative. This has been the case ever since the first versions of the Free High School Science Texts were written by volunteers. Over the years, we have tried and tested different models for collaborative development, continually reflecting on the ideal process that draws on the strengths of the community and feeds into our work. Each of our open textbooks has been developed collaboratively by a large group of contributors, including volunteers from South Africa and internationally, paid contributors and our in-house team. Each book project was managed by the Content Coordinator (a subject specialist responsible for the content, curriculum, workshop design, authoring and editing) and the Community Coordinator. Our collaborative development process has varied and evolved but has always involved physical workshops (also known as hackathons or book sprints) and online collaboration for review and translation. As in open source software development, we believe in the mantra "release early and release often".

The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program has created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The $1.9 billion investment by the US Department of Labor produced a comprehensive collection of workforce-related Open Educational Resources (OER) created by over 700 community colleges across the nation. The OER can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by an individual, institution, and industry for FREE with the proper attribution to the original author of the resources.

Textbook Revolution is a student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials by teachers and professors. We want to get these materials into classrooms. On this site you'll find links and reviews of textbooks and select educational resources. Some of the books are PDF files, others are viewable online as e-books, or some are simply web sites containing course or multimedia content.

Around 3,000 books.