Open Access Materials

Provides access to 9,000 artists, 2,900 sites index, and 160,000 links.

Google Arts & Culture is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums.

452,604 records from the Metropolitan Museum of Art Online Collection.

The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

Explore 729,730 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Our programs produce accurate geologic maps and 3-D geologic frameworks that provide critical data for sustaining and improving the quality of life and economic vitality of the Nation. They also organize, maintain, and publish the geospatial baseline of the Nation's topography, natural landscape, built environment and more.

Mark Newman, Department of Physics and Center for the Study of Complex Systems, University of Michigan

The NYPL Map Warper is a tool for digitally aligning ("rectifying") historical maps from the NYPL's collections to match today's precise maps. Visitors can browse already rectified maps or assist the NYPL by aligning a map. Play the video above to tour the site and learn how to rectify a map yourself. Everyone is welcome to participate!

With more than 57,000 historic clips and 7 million stills for immediate download, CriticalPast is your source for imagery of worldwide events, people, and B-roll spanning the 20th century. Fully digitized and searchable, the CriticalPast collection is one of the largest royalty-free archival footage collections in the world. Search and view thousands of historic video clips and millions of still images, all available for immediate download in many formats, including multiple variations of HD, PAL, and NTSC. All clips and stills are licensed royalty-free, worldwide, in perpetuity, for all media. The average HD clip price is only $200 for 2 minutes. Stills are licensed for only $25. CriticalPast offers immediate downloads of full-resolution HD and SD masters and full-resolution time-coded screeners, 24 hours a day, to serve the needs of broadcast news, TV, film, and publishing professionals worldwide.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

Multimedia credited to NPS without any copyright symbol are public domain. Multimedia credited with a copyright symbol (indicating that the creator may maintain rights to the work) or credited to any entity other than NPS must not be presumed to be public domain; contact the host park or program to ascertain who owns the material.

Teachers have told us they need a place to access safe images that are available to be used in the classroom and for educational purposes. Plus, they want accurate image citations. We’ve heard you and created “Photos For Class” to meet your needs for images! Age Appropriate Images - All images are appropriate for the school setting, thanks to Flicker SafeSearch and our proprietary filters - Automatic Citation - Downloaded images automatically cite the author and the image license terms -and Creative Commons - All photos shown are, to the best of our (and Flickr's) knowledge, licensed by Creative Commons for public use.

Browse 620,338 works of art and 382,724 Rijksstudios (Museum).

The NRCS Photo Gallery contains natural resource and conservation related photos from across
the USA.

This Image Gallery is a complimentary source of high-quality digital photographs available from the Agricultural Research Service Office of Communications.

The Videos collection depicts the outstanding work of our FWS videographers who have produced outreach and instructional tools available for public access and depicts the outstanding work of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and its conservation partners. Additional information about National Conservation Training Center (NCTC) videos can be found in the NCTC Video Resource Library.

Explore our planet through photography and imagery, including climate change and water all the way back to the 1800s when the USGS was surveying the country by horse and buggy.

Find thousands of Creative Commons licensed images from historical library materials and museum objects to contemporary digital photographs.

Free images and videos you can use anywhere. Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under Creative Commons CC0, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes.

Free stock photos.

Free stock photos.

Free stock photos.

The End of Term Web Archive contains federal government websites (.gov, .mil, etc) in the Legislative, Executive, or Judicial branches of the government. Websites that were at risk of changing (i.e., whitehouse.gov) or disappearing altogether during government transitions were captured. Local or state government websites, or any other site not part of the federal government domain were out of scope.

Since 2010, Clemson University and the National Park Service have collaborated on the Open Parks Network, an Institute of Museum and Library Services funded project that has resulted in the digitization of over 350,000 cultural heritage objects and 1.5 million pages of gray literature housed in the libraries, museums, and archives of our nation’s parks, historic sites, and other protected areas. More than 20 national parks and other protected sites are represented in these diverse collections, as well as 2 state park systems and 3 university libraries. The Open Parks Network provides public access to high-resolution, downloadable files.

NASA ArtSpace features creative works that serve to inform and inspire the process of exploration and discovery through the convergence of art, science and technology.