Science

Full-text reference ebooks. Provides a depth of information on a large range of subjects, including a Mind Map which gives user a visual representation of how the topic relates to other topics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.

Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritativeand comprehensive.

General Interest Database by EBSCO covering a wide array of different topics

Facts On File spans core subject areas such as history, science, literature, geography, health, and more.

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access), a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

BLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.

Index and journals for nursing and allied health

Explore 262,480 research studies in all 50 states and in 201 countries. ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

An online diagnostic support system for veterinary medicine from the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine.

Provided jointly by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the NLM, includes human and animal drug labels.

The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 10000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download. Published articles: Are fully peer reviewed. Are immediately free to access and download from ScienceDirect. Permitted re-use defined by the author's choice of Creative Commons user licenses. Published with CrossMark® to maintain the publication record

The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems,health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the U.S. National Library of Education (NLE). ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.

Frontiers is at the forefront of building this ultimate Open Science platform. By taking publishing entirely online, we drive innovations and develop new technologies to make peer-review more efficient and transparent, provide impact metrics for articles and researchers, are the first – and only – to merge open-access publishing with a research network platform, Loop, to catalyse collaboration and research dissemination and we popularize research to the public, including kids. Our mission is to increase the reach and impact of articles and their authors. Frontiers today publishes several of the most cited Open-access journals in the world, is today one of the largest and fastest-growing open-access publishers, receives millions of monthly page views, received the ALPSP Gold Award for Innovation in Publishing in 2014, has publishing agreements with many universities, and collaborates with Nature Publishing Group, Scientific American, Digital Science, OpenAire, CrossRef, OASPA, COPE, Jacobs Foundation, and others to advance Open Science worldwide.

General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

The Generic Animal Drug and Patent Restoration act requires that each sponsor of an approved animal drug must submit to the FDA certain information regarding patents held for the animal drug or its method of use. The Act requires that this information, as well as a list of all animal drug products approved for safety and effectiveness, be made available to the public.

Health & Wellness Resource Center offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Nursing and medical journals

On-line publisher of veterinary books and proceedings. The IVIS website currently includes 1,673 book chapters and proceeding articles. Sign in for free access.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge.

Find information on animal health topics, written for the veterinary professional.

National Center for Biotechnology Information, NLM. Search all NCBI databases at one time.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

The best online veterinary anatomy exhibits within one collection.

OpenDOAR provides a quality-assured listing of open access repositories around the world. OpenDOAR staff harvest and assign metadata to allow categorisation and analysis to assist the wider use and exploitation of repositories. Each of the repositories has been visited by OpenDOAR staff to ensure a high degree of quality and consistency in the information provided: OpenDOAR is maintained by SHERPA Services, based at the Centre for Research Communications at the University of Nottingham.

PathoPic is a Public access image database providing images of high quality for use in medical education and public health information. Each image has an unique identification number and is classified according to its topography, diagnosis, stain, etc. Additional information is supplied in terms of a short description and clinical data if available. A detailed search form allows locating images precisely and fast. The search result can be viewed as text or in a preview format with thumbnails. For students an interactive training mode has been developed, which can be adapted to individual needs (in german version only). Based on an easy to use technology PathoPic will be a fast growing image database with the possibility to integrate any image of the database in different learning modules.

PhytoKeys is a peer-reviewed, open-access, rapidly disseminated journal launched to accelerate research and free information exchange in taxonomy, phylogeny, biogeography and evolution of plants. PhytoKeys aims to apply the latest trends and methodologies in publishing and preservation of digital materials to meet the highest possible standards of the cybertaxonomy era.

Open Access Journal for Plant Biology.

A bibliographic database of primatology.

Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.

PubMed, from the National Library of Medicine, comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Science In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Database of toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic release.

Database of veterinary systematic review.