Nursing and Medical Field

A service of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, the mission of the AHRQ is "to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans." Site includes research, reports and other tools that support clinicians, patients, policymakers and other health officials in delivering safe, effective and quality services.

The country statistical pages bring together the main health data and statistics for each country, as compiled by WHO and partners in close consultation with Member States, and include descriptive and analytical summaries of health indicators for major health topics.

Searchable database of topics from the Center for Disease Control.

From the Center for Disease Control, the FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

Searchable databases of resources.

Provides a variety of resources from government, universities, and related organizations.

Access the following: The Global Health Observatory (GHO): WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. Provides critical data and analyses for over 30 health themes ranging from health systems to disease-specific themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The Global Health Estimates (GHE): The GHE provide a comprehensive and comparable assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases, injuries and risk factors. Global, regional and country estimates for all-cause mortality, and deaths and disability-adjusted life years (DALYs) by age, sex and cause, are available for download. The WHO Mortality Database: Database of annual death registration data on causes of death by age and sex as reported from civil registration systems of more than 100 Member States.

MedNar is a federated search that covers the "deep web" of medical information, find more in-depth information than you might find with the typical website. It searches commercial sites as well as government sites, and allows for limiting results by type. MedNar also suggests medical subject headings (MeSH) for searches, as well a medical dicitonary. A good place to look when you need to do an in-depth search.

The NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing. NCHS is a key element of the national public health infrastructure, providing important surveillance information that helps identify and address critical health problems.

This is a FREE online and interactive resource for teachers, students, and brain enthusiasts alike, that provides the most beginner friendly and up to date (and constantly updating) atlas of the human brain. The purpose of this project is to provide readers with an opportunity to learn how their brain works step-by-step and without the fear of complex scientific jargon and the investment of time in reading hundreds of medical and psychology textbooks and peer-reviewed articles.