Nursing and Medical Field

Fundamentals of nursing -- Health assessment -- Medical-surgical nursing -- Pharmacology -- Pediatric nursing -- Maternity nursing -- Psychiatric mental health nursing.

Researching your nursing education -- Discovering nursing -- Values, goals, time, and stress: managing yourself -- Learning styles, majors, and careers: knowing your talents and finding your direction -- Critical, creative, and practical thinking: solving problems and making decisions -- Reading and studying: focusing on content -- Listening, note taking, and memory: taking in, recording, and remembering information -- Test taking: showing what you know -- Researching and writing: gathering and communicating ideas -- Relating to others: communicating in a diverse world -- Personal wellness: taking care of yourself -- Managing career and money: reality resources -- Creating your life: building a successful future.

Getting The Most From Nursing School presents a roadmap to guide talented men and women along their journey from considering nursing as a profession to their first position as a registered nurse. This exceptional resource provides the necessary guidance to ensure that students get the most from their education and become excellent care providers, policymakers, educators, and researchers and achieve their goal of improving the health and well-being of others.

Getting The Most From Nursing School is written by a doctorally prepared nurse, researcher, and professor and can be distinguished by its evidence-based information, its anecdotes, and its empirically grounded recommendations from nurses who have decades of experience in both clinical practice and as educators.

Ideal for shorter, more focused courses, this concise text provides coverage of the concepts and skills that are essential for becoming a nursing assistant. It clearly and logically presents the responsibilities of the nursing assistant in a readable, highly visual format that appeals to learners of all levels.

The Practice Environment of Nursing: Issues and Trends takes a clear and frank health policy approach as it offers relevant concept discussions for the future RN to apply in their first professional role as a registered nurse. With the contributions from expert clinicians, administrators and educators in their respective fields, this book covers everything that is needed for the successful transition from student to registered nurse. This book also encourages exploration of the larger social context that forms, molds, and impacts nursing practice. Innovative, current chapters include Health Disparities, Insurance, and Health Policy, as well as vital information on taking the NCLEX Exam, workplace safety and much more."--Publisher's description.

What is a nurse? -- Why become a nurse? -- How to become a nurse -- Deciding where to work -- Surviving your first day -- The new kid on the block -- Your scope of practice -- Time management -- Utilizing teamwork -- Learn from your mistakes -- What you learned in school -- The patients -- The doctors -- The nursing shortage in action -- Expect to get sick -- Working with technology -- Discharge planning -- Documentation and communication -- Confidentiality -- Nursing is a lifelong learning experience -- Setting future career goals -- Taking care of yourself.

Fundamental procedures / Susan Leininger -- Specimen collection / Valerie Becker -- Physical treatments / Heike K. Huchler -- Drug administration and i.v. therapy / Susan Leininger -- Cardiovascular care / Kathryn Kay -- Respiratory care / Kathryn Kay -- Neurologic care / Celeste M. Grossi -- Gastrointestinal care / Nicole Goetz -- Renal care / Colleen M. Fries -- Orthopedic care / Sandra M. Costello -- Skin care / Geri Pallija -- Maternal-neonatal care / Darlene Cantu -- Pediatric care / Darlene Cantu.

Overview of nursing / Angel Boling -- Basics of health and illness / Angel Boling -- Ethical and legal considerations / Beverly McLean -- Nursing process / Rhonda Sansone -- Communication / Mary Ann Edelman -- Health assessment / Mary Ann Edelman -- Taking vital signs / Rosemary Macy -- Asepsis and infection control / Rhonda Sansone -- Medication basics / Rosemary Macy -- Medication administration / Rosemary Macy -- I.V. therapy / Rosemary Macy -- Oxygenation / Donna Moore -- Self-care and hygiene / Mary Ann Edelman -- Mobility, activity, and exercise / Donna Moore -- Skin integrity and wound healing / Angel Boling -- Comfort, rest, and sleep / Rhonda Sansone -- Pain management / Rhonda Sansone -- Nutrition / Angel Boling -- Urinary elimination / Angel Boling -- Bowel elimination / Angel Boling.

"In the fully updated third edition of this award-winning title, more than 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more. "

The adult learner and the practical/vocational nursing program -- Developing a successful learning style -- Time management: using a limited resource wisely -- Methods and skills used in learning -- Learning during school, for the NCLEX-PN® examination, and beyond -- Critical thinking and patient care -- How practical/vocational nursing evolved -- Nursing process: your role -- Straightforward communication -- Personal health promotion -- The health care team -- Cultural uniqueness, sensitivity, and competence -- Spiritual needs, spiritual caring, and religious differences -- Assertiveness: your responsibility -- Leadership skills -- LPN/LVN charge nurse skills: management, including assignment and delegation -- Health care settings -- Health care system: financing, issues, and trends -- Ethics applied to nursing -- Nursing and the law -- Finding a job -- The NCLEX-PN® examination -- How to make your career grow.

Now that your journey has begun -- Common myths regarding nursing -- Facing the challenge of your chosen major -- Optimizing the value of classroom time -- Interacting with your instructor -- What kind of learner are you? -- The digital world of nursing education -- The clinical experience -- Once on-site -- Patients as people -- Working, family and crises that won't wait -- You are your own patient -- Licensure -- NCLEX -- The basics of job hunting in nursing -- The fine points of job hunting in nursing -- Reaching for the next star -- What? Me publish? -- Insuring your investment -- A nursing fable.

The three Cs: collaboration, communication, and cooperation -- The organization : shifting authority and communication from top-down to patient-centered -- Leadership/management-can you tell them apart? -- Labor and management : need not be adversarial -- Personality traits-the keys to the kingdom -- Bridging the cultural divide -- Spirituality and nursing : challenges, dilemmas, and occasional successes / Barbara Stevens Barnum -- Grief : part of the human condition -- Ethics, morality, critical thinking, and use and abuse of power : are there missing links? -- The epilogue-nursing : what it is and what it should be.

Preparing for practice : becoming resilient / Margaret McAllister and John B. Lowe -- Nurses who made a difference / Margaret McAllister and John B. Lowe -- Moral and ethical practice / Andrew Estefan -- Learning from role models / Maura MacPhee -- Thinking clearly : realistic appraisals and moderating reactions in stressful situations / Mary Katsikitis and Rachael R. Sharman -- Being convincing : talking to others persuasively / Natoshia M. Askelson, Mary Lober Aquilino, and Shelly Campo -- Mind games at work : preparing for effective team-working / Tony Warne and Sue McAndrew -- Thriving in the workplace : learning from innovative practices / Debra Jackson, Glenda McDonald, and Lesley Wilkes -- What to do when the busy day is over / Jane Brannan, Mary de Chesnay, and Patricia l. Hart -- Things just got really serious : coping in crisis / Jane Shakespeare-FInch -- Now it's my turn : becoming the image of the good leader -- Linda Shields -- Looking forward / Margaret McAllister and John B. Lowe.

Philosophical and theoretical perspectives related to complexity science in nursing / Marlaine Smith -- Complex caring dynamics : a unifying model of nursing inquiry / Marilyn A. Ray -- Theoretical issues and methods for increasing understanding of complex healthcare systems / Alice W. Davidson, Stefan Topolski -- Relational caring complexity : the study of caring and complexity in health care hospital organizations / Marilyn A. Ray, Marian C. Turkel, Jeffrey Cohn -- Why Six-Sigma health care is oxymoronic in hospitals / Bruce J. West -- Entropy as information content in medical research / Nikhil S. Padhye -- Caring science and complexity science guiding the practice of hospital and nursing administrative practice / Mary Beth Kingston, Michael Brooks Turkel -- Leadership in complex nursing and health care systems / Diana M. Crowell --
Mathematical models of the dynamics of social conflict / Larry Liebovitch ... [et al.] -- Modeling the complexity of story theory for nursing practice / Patricia Liehr, Mary Jane Smith -- Providing nursing care in a complex health care environment / Michael Bleich -- The complexity of diabetes and the caring role of the nurse practitioner / Jane Kapustin -- Lessons in complexity science : preparing student nurses for practice in complex health care systems / Claire E. Lindberg -- Technological change in health care electronic documentation as facilitated through the science of complexity / Todd Swinderman -- Implementing change in nursing informatics practice / Aric S. Campling, Marilyn A. Ray, Jacqueline M. Lopez-Devine -- Human rights and humanoid relationships in nursing and complexity science / Rozzano Locsin ... [et al.].

This 2009 AJN Book of the Year Winner, by two noted educators in the field of leadership development, guides you through the process. An easy-to-read, interactive approach helps you identify the characteristics of leaders and followers and illustrates not only how, but also when to use the qualities associated with each to achieve professional and personal success.

Introduction to care planning -- Assessment -- Nursing diagnosis -- Planning -- Implementation -- Evaluation -- Putting it all together -- Medical-surgical diagnoses -- Maternal-neonatal diagnoses -- Pediatric diagnoses -- Psychiatric diagnoses.

Understanding laboratory tests -- Hematology tests -- Electrolytes -- Arterial blood gases test -- Liver blood tests -- Cardiac enzymes and markers tests -- Serologic tests -- Endocrine tests -- Tumor markers -- Pregnancy, infertility and genetic tests -- Simple x-ray imaging -- Computed tomography (CT, CAT) scan -- Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and positron emission tomography (PET) scan -- Ultrasound scan -- Cardiovascular tests and procedures -- Female and maternity tests and procedures -- Tests for males -- Lung, chest, abdominal, urinary tract tests and procedures -- Skin, muscle and bone tests -- Sinus, ears, nose, throat (ENT) tests and procedures -- Vision tests and procedures.
Includes index.

Critical care basics / Wendeline J. Grbach -- Holistic care issues / Anna Jarrett -- Neurologic system / Ellie Z. Franges -- Cardiovascular system / Kathryn l. Kay -- Respiratory system / Elizabeth Moots -- Gastrointestinal system / Wendeline J. Grbach -- Renal system / Jodi l. Gunther -- Endocrine system / Margaret J. Malone -- Hematologic and immune systems / Maurice Espinoza -- Multisystem issues / Susan M. Raymon

Emergency department basics / Jane Von Dohre -- Holistic care / Jane Von Dohre -- Neurologic emergencies / Laura M. Criddle -- Cardiac emergencies / Donna Roe -- Respiratory emergencies / Robin Walsh -- Gastrointestinal emergencies / Laurie Donaghy -- Musculoskeletal emergencies and wound management / Lisa Matamoros -- Genitourinary and gynecologic emergencies / Sharon L. Lee -- Maxillofacial and ocular emergencies / Mary Jones -- Environmental emergencies / Julie Briggs -- Shock and multisystem trauma emergencies / Melissa S. Wafer -- Emergency delivery -- Recording the Apgar score / Sharon L. Lee and Lisa Matamoros.

Introduction to maternal-neonatal nursing -- Conception and fetal development -- Family planning, contraception, and infertility -- Physiologic and psychosocial adaptations to pregnancy -- Prenatal care -- High-risk pregnancy -- Labor and birth -- Complications of labor and birth -- Postpartum care -- Complications of the postpartum period -- Neonatal assessment and care -- High-risk neonatal conditions.

"Key concepts, major theories, and advanced trends simplified and explained Whether you're a student seeking to excel in a course or a professional nurse transitioning into psychiatric and mental health nursing, this is the book you need to quickly and easily understand the key concepts and advanced trends of this specialty. In order to make the learning process as effective as possible, Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing DeMYSTiFieD includes learning objectives in every chapter, along with key terms, a brief overview of topics, content summaries, chapter-ending review questions, and explanatory tables and diagrams. The book also includes a comprehensive final exam with NCLEX-style quesions covering all of the content found in the book"-