LibGuides: Information Literacy: Trustworthy News Sites

Finding Good Resources

Databases for News

The following databases provide access to News, free to you as part of your time here at ILCC.

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Find information on issues related to economics, education, English, nursing, political science and more from a variety of news media including newspapers, videos and web-only content featuring The Gazette, Sioux City Journal and USA Today.
Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, translate articles into 11 different languages, and create email alerts.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
U.S. and World news: 1940-Present

Best Practices Search Techniques: News

When searching for information on a specific news site, such as NY Times, do the following:

Search Term site:url (no space between site: and the URL)

For example: gun control site:nytimes.com

This will search just the site. You can also use this technique to search .gov or .edu

For example: gun control site:.gov

This will only search Government websites with .gov

Investigative Journalism

AP News
The Associated Press delivers in-depth coverage on today's Big Story including top stories, international, politics, lifestyle, business, entertainment, and more.
Reuters News
Reuters.com brings you the latest news from around the world, covering breaking news in markets, business, politics, entertainment, technology, video and pictures.
Bloomberg News
Bloomberg delivers business and markets news, data, analysis, and video to the world, featuring stories from Businessweek and Bloomberg News.
AFP News
Agence France-Presse (AFP) is an international news agency headquartered in Paris, France. Founded in 1835, AFP is the third largest news agency in the world, after the Associated Press (AP) and Reuters.
ABC News
Your trusted source for breaking news, analysis, exclusive interviews, headlines, and videos at ABCNews.com.
CBS News
CBS News: dedicated to providing the best in journalism under standards it pioneered at the dawn of radio and television and continue in the digital age.
NBC News
Go to NBCNews.com for breaking news, videos, and the latest top stories in world news, business, politics, health and pop culture.
NPR News
NPR news, audio, and podcasts. Coverage of breaking stories, national and world news, politics, business, science, technology, and extended coverage of major national and world events.
BBC News
Visit BBC News for up-to-the-minute news, breaking news, video, audio and feature stories. BBC News provides trusted World and UK news as well as local and regional perspectives. Also entertainment, business, science, technology and health news.
NY Times
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, cars & more at nytimes.com.
Wall Street Journal News
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Top stories, photos, videos, detailed analysis and in-depth reporting.
USA Today
USA TODAY delivers current local and national news, sports, entertainment, finance, technology, and more through award-winning journalism, photos, videos and VR.
Politico
Political news about Congress, the White House, campaigns, lobbyists and issues.
Axios News
Smart, efficient news worthy of your time, attention, and trust.
The Hill
The Hill is an American political newspaper and website published in Washington, D.C. since 1994. It is published by Capitol Hill Publishing, which is owned by News Communications, Inc.
Christian Science Monitor
The Christian Science Monitor is an international news organization that delivers thoughtful, global coverage via its website, weekly magazine, daily news briefing, and email newsletters.
The Guardian
TheGuardian.com, formerly known as Guardian.co.uk and Guardian Unlimited, is a British news and media website owned by the Guardian Media Group. It contains nearly all of the content of the newspapers
The Washington Post
Breaking news and analysis on politics, business, world national news, entertainment more. In-depth DC, Virginia, Maryland news coverage including traffic, weather, crime, education, restaurant reviews and more.

Fair Interpretation of News

Time
Breaking news and analysis from TIME.com. Politics, world news, photos, video, tech reviews, health, science and entertainment news.
The Economist
The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them.
Foreign Policy
oreign Policy is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. It produces content daily on its website, and in six print issues annually.
The Week
he Week is a weekly British news magazine founded in 1995 which has also published a US edition since 2001 and a children's edition in the UK since 2015.
The New Yorker
Reporting, Profiles, breaking news, cultural coverage, podcasts, videos, and cartoons from The New Yorker.
The Fiscal Times
The Fiscal Times (TFT) is an English-language digital news, news analysis and opinion publication based in New York City and Washington, D.C.. It was founded in 2010 with initial funding from businessman and investment banker Peter G. Peterson.

Information Literacy

Librarian

Know Your Source

Making the News

Finding Good Resources

Databases for News

Best Practices Search Techniques: News

Investigative Journalism

Fair Interpretation of News