LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Articles

Articles from Databases

What are Journal Articles?

Journal Articles are stored in Databases. Databases are like electronic filing cabinets.

Researchers write articles about their research and then publish them in Academic Journals. Then these Journals are available through Databases that the library purchases for your use.

Why use Databases? Why not just Google the information?

Anyone can publish on the internet. They may or may not know their topic. In order to publish in a Journal, you must be an expert and meet specific standards in your area of expertise.

This means that you can trust what you read in a Journal Article.

Best Databases to Begin

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritativeand comprehensive.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
General Interest Database by EBSCO covering a wide array of different topics
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on political and social issues
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Social issues pros and cons
PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.

Best Databases for Criminal Justice

Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues In Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected,relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.

News Databases

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Find information on issues related to economics, education, English, nursing, political science and more from a variety of news media including newspapers, videos and web-only content featuring The Gazette, Sioux City Journal and USA Today.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
U.S. and World news: 1940-Present

Search Online Databases

Need information from a source, such as the NY Times? Use the easy trick below to search any database.

Type your search terms followed by site:www.url.com

For example:

new york state police site:www.nytimes.com

This will search only that site's websites. Be sure to have NO SPACE between the colon and the website.

History Databases

U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
U.S. History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
World History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Criminal Justice

Library Passwords

Need help?