LibGuides: African American History: Articles

History Databases

What are Journal Articles?

Journal Articles are stored in Databases. Databases are like electronic filing cabinets.

Researchers write articles about their research and then publish them in Academic Journals. Then these Journals are available through Databases that the library purchases for your use.

Why use Databases? Why not just Google the information?

Anyone can publish on the internet. They may or may not know their topic. In order to publish in a Journal, you must be an expert and meet specific standards in your area of expertise.

This means that you can trust what you read in a Journal Article.

Best Databases to Begin

Credo This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference ebooks. Provides a depth of information on a large range of subjects, including a Mind Map which gives user a visual representation of how the topic relates to other topics.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
General Interest Database by EBSCO covering a wide array of different topics
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritativeand comprehensive.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.
Research In Context This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on political and social issues

Best Databases for History

Biographies in Context This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) withperiodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
This database is a first stop index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as an index to other indexes.
HeinOnline Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
Military and Intelligence Database Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
U.S. History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
War and Terrorism Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
World History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World Scholar: Latin America & The Caribbean This link opens in a new window
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean provides a portal with access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad. The archive and portal serve as both integrated and standalone resources.

Best Places to Search for African American History

HeinOnline Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.

Articles from Databases

Best Databases for Basic Research

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritativeand comprehensive.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
General Interest Database by EBSCO covering a wide array of different topics
Credo This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference ebooks. Provides a depth of information on a large range of subjects, including a Mind Map which gives user a visual representation of how the topic relates to other topics.
Facts on File This link opens in a new window
Facts On File spans core subject areas such as history, science, literature, geography, health, and more.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.

African American History

EBSCO eBooks

Need help?