EMT

Ambulance Care Practice is an essential guide to the curriculum for trainee associate ambulance practitioners. Key features of the book are: •In line with the National Education Network for Ambulance Services standards •Illustrated throughout with anatomical drawings and photographs •Procedures boxes which take you step by step through essential clinical skills •Chapters on mental health and end of life care which are specific to associate ambulance practitioner level •Evidence-based throughout and referenced to the latest guidance, research and policy •Key points to guide you through the book.

"This book provides a helpful and comprehensive insight into the role of the paramedic. It utilises a variety of experts within the field to illustrate many of the issues often confronted by those working within this area ... Ideally suited for those starting a career in the out-of hospital setting, as well as experienced paramedics." John Donaghy, Principal Lecturer & Professional Lead, Paramedic Science, University of Hertfordshire, UK "This book is the first of its kind in the paramedic world and acts to cover every important topic needed to have an appreciation for health related research ... The format is easy to follow and helps the reader to have a foundation knowledge of the language and terminology used within the research world ... This book should be a must have for any student paramedic and will be invaluable to those writing dissertations or studying health related research." Ruth Lambert, Student, University of Northampton, UK This book is the ideal resource for paramedics and student paramedics looking for a quick reference guide to help develop their assessment skills. This handy pocket sized book can be used by students for exam revision, or by paramedics en-route to a call, to revisit key points and further refine their skills. Divided into body systems, the book takes the reader through the considerations and actions required for each type of emergency presentation. The book also: Takes a systematic format of assessment which mirrors current UK and International practice Assists student paramedics in identifying 'time critical' problems and appropriate 'possible actions to be taken' Includes specific chapters in the specialist fields of paediatric assessment and neonatal assessment and care Considers the social, ethical and legal factors that might impact on care Uses mnemonics, cases, diagrams and photographs to demonstrate and reinforce key points Written by experienced paramedics, specialist health care professionals and doctors, this book will enhance knowledge and encourage accurate, timely and thorough assessment of patients across the lifespan. Contributors:Denise Aspland, Chris Baker, Kevin Dark, Rehan-Uddin Khan,Matthew Lane, Jaqualine Lindridge, Mathew Millman,Nandiran Ratnavel, James Rouse, Nigel Ward and Mark Whitbread.

Ride in the back of the ambulance with Sherry Lynn Jones Share the innermost feelings of emergency services workers as they encounter trauma, tragedy, redemption, and even a little humor. Sherry Lynn Jones has been an Emergency Medical Technician, Emergency Room Nurse, prison healthcare practitioner, and an on-scene critical incident debriefer. Most people who have observed or experienced physical, mental or emotional crisis have single perspectives. This book allows readers to stand on both sides of the gurney; it details a progression from innocence to enlightened caregiver to burnout, glimpsing into each stage personally and professionally.'Corrections': the third realm of emergency care behind layers of concrete and barbed wire. Join in the dangers, challenges, and truth-is-stranger-than-fiction humor of this updated and revised second edition of Confessions of a Trauma Junkie. In addition to stories from the streets and ERs, medics, nurses, and corrections officers share perceptions and coping skills from the other side of prisons'cuffs and clanging metal doors. Emergency Service Professionals Praise Confessions of a Trauma Junkie'A must read for those who choose to subject themselves to life at its best and at its worst. Sherry offers insight in the Emergency Response business that most people cannot imagine.'--Maj Gen Richard L. Bowling, former Commanding General, USAF Auxiliary (CAP)'Sherry Lynn Jones shares experiences and unique personal insights of first responders. Told with poetry, sensitivity and a touch of humor at times, all are real, providing views into realities EMTs, Nurses, and other first responders encounter. Recommended reading for anyone working with trauma, crises, critical incidents in any profession.'-- George W. Doherty, MS, LPC, President Rocky Mountain Region Disaster Mental Health Institute'Sherry has captured the essence of working with people who have witnessed trauma. It made me cry, it made me laugh, it helped me to understand differently the work of our Emergency Services Personnel. I consider this a'must read'for all of us who wish to be helpful to those who work in these professions.'--Dennis Potter, LMSW, CAADC, CCS, FAAETS, ICISF Faculty'Confessions of a Trauma Junkie is an honest, powerful, and moving account of the emotional realities of helping others! Sherry Lynn Jones gives us a privileged look into the healing professions she knows firsthand. The importance of peer support is beautifully illustrated. This book will deepen the readers respect for those who serve.'--Victor Welzant, PsyD, Director of Education and Training, The International Critical Incident Stress Foundation, Inc (ICISF).

Disasters and public health emergencies can stress health care systems to the breaking point and disrupt delivery of vital medical services. During such crises, hospitals and long-term care facilities may be without power; trained staff, ambulances, medical supplies and beds could be in short supply; and alternate care facilities may need to be used. Planning for these situations is necessary to provide the best possible health care during a crisis and, if needed, equitably allocate scarce resources. Crisis Standards of Care: A Toolkit for Indicators and Triggers examines indicators and triggers that guide the implementation of crisis standards of care and provides a discussion toolkit to help stakeholders establish indicators and triggers for their own communities. Together, indicators and triggers help guide operational decision making about providing care during public health and medical emergencies and disasters. Indicators and triggers represent the information and actions taken at specific thresholds that guide incident recognition, response, and recovery. This report discusses indicators and triggers for both a slow onset scenario, such as pandemic influenza, and a no-notice scenario, such as an earthquake. Crisis Standards of Care features discussion toolkits customized to help various stakeholders develop indicators and triggers for their own organizations, agencies, and jurisdictions. The toolkit contains scenarios, key questions, and examples of indicators, triggers, and tactics to help promote discussion. In addition to common elements designed to facilitate integrated planning, the toolkit contains chapters specifically customized for emergency management, public health, emergency medical services, hospital and acute care, and out-of-hospital care.

This unique guide will serve as a street survival guide for public safety officers and supervisors alike. The author, Doctor Daniel Rudofossi, a sworn police officer and police psychologist in the NYPD and DEA among other agencies, offers a thorough assessment and intervention guide for clinicians and public safety professionals in dealing with mentally ill persons. Using his technique, the Eco-Ethological Existential Analytic method, he presents an original approach toward compassionate and safe interventions with mentally ill citizens who become involved with public safety officers. It will open the doors to an effective and highly meaningful guide officers can put into practice immediately, so that officers and supervisors can maximize the outcome of safe and effective humane processing of mentally ill with the potential for violence. Case examples and question-and-answer sections are also provided that offer user-friendly guidelines for ensuring custody to rehabilitation of the mentally ill street person. The guide also provides information on how to gain self-care and referral to peers when the stressors of dealing with the mentally ill start to increase to burnout and "compassion fatigue" in first responders and mental health counselors. It will also provide a wide overview as well as in-depth coverage of the evolving specialty of police psychology. The book will prove to be an invaluable resource for a wide audience of professional police officers, emergency medical technicians, firefighters, military guard, public and private security, criminal justice practitioners, counselors, social workers and others in responding to such crises. From triage through the police custodial role to outreach and cooperation with local and community mental health clinics, the approaches offered in this book will lead to the best of all possible outcomes.

How can we meet the special needs of children for emergency medical services (EMS) when today's EMS systems are often unprepared for the challenge? This comprehensive overview of EMS for children (EMS-C) provides an answer by presenting a vision for tomorrow's EMS-C system and practical recommendations for attaining it. Drawing on many studies and examples, the volume explores why emergency care for children--from infants through adolescents--must differ from that for adults and describes what seriously ill or injured children generally experience in today's EMS systems. The book points the way to integrating EMS-C into current emergency programs and into broader aspects of health care for children. It gives recommendations for ensuring access to emergency care through the 9-1-1 system; training health professionals, from paramedics to physicians; educating the public; providing proper equipment, protocols, and referral systems; improving communications among EMS-C providers; enhancing data resources and expanding research efforts; and stimulating and supporting leadership in EMS-C at the federal and state levels. For those already deeply involved in EMS efforts, this volume is a convenient, up-to-date, and comprehensive source of information and ideas. More importantly, for anyone interested in improving the emergency services available to children--emergency care professionals from emergency medical technicians to nurses to physicians, hospital and EMS administrators, public officials, health educators, children's advocacy groups, concerned parents and other responsible adults--this timely volume provides a realistic plan for action to link EMS-C system components into a workable structure that will better serve all of the nation's children.

Test-taking strategies and steps to succeed as an EMT No two EMT exam experiences are exactly alike, as questions are tailored to the test-taker and range in topics from handling medical emergencies and patient assessment, to medical ethics, ambulance operations, and pediatrics. EMT Exam For Dummies takes the intimidation out of the test, offering everything you need to prepare for--and pass--the exam. Along with the book, there is also an online companion website that features two additional practice tests, and over 200 flashcards to ensure that you do your best on test day. Career opportunities are abundant for certified EMTs, and this straightforward guide increases your chances of scoring higher on the computer-adaptive and practical portions of the exam so you can get out in the field and dispense lifesaving medical care. In the book, you'll find an overview of the EMT Exam, including test organization and how the exam is scored, content review with practice questions, a sneak peek at the practical exam, and one full-length practice test with detailed answer explanations. Includes sample test questions and detailed answers throughout, as well as a sneak peek into the practical test Gives you two bonus practice exams via the companion online test bank, with tests available in timed and untimed formats, and more than 200 flashcards that cover all the test topics Offers clear test-taking advice for passing the crucial, practical part of the exam Covers the psychomotor component of the EMT Exam EMT Exam For Dummies has everything you need to succeed as an EMT and continue your training, and with an easy-to-read style and focus on the most important details, you'll be ready to pass the exam in no time!

Completely revised and updated, the new 4th edition includes must-have information and guidelines for health care professionals and hospital systems interested in developing transport systems and improving the transport care they deliver. Authored by leading experts in transport medicine, the editorial team is devoted to ensuring that appropriate evidence-based conclusions and recommendations are included, when available, for the clinical and administrative subjects presented. The 4th edition covers all aspects of air and ground transport - from team organization and training to equipment selection, quality improvement, safety, ethics and much more. Obtain the latest guidelines to insure quality of care and safety during transport with this leading-edge publication. Content highlights: All chapters thoroughly reviewed and updated by the leading authorities in transport medicine New chapter on telemedicine covering equipment and teleconferencing, telemedicine in other clinical settings, regulations and reimbursement, and more Expanded sections on driving performance improvement, risk management, and bioethics Updated Web resources Handy tools including sample position descriptions, sample transport medicine transfer agreement, policies and procedures, and more

The JRCALC Clinical Practice Guidelines 2017 Pocket Book is up to date with both the 2016 guidelines and the 2017 supplementary guidelines. It includes the latest guidance on drug administration for diazepam, misoprostol, paracetamol, oxygen, naloxone hydrochloride and 0.9% sodium chloride. The Pocket Book is also up to date with best practice on pain management and spinal injury algorithms. This quick reference tool provides reference and reassurance for all out of hospital clinicians.

This first-hand account of September 11, written by a paramedic on the scene, chronicles the days before and after the collapse of the World Trade Center towers. Frank Rella describes the paramedic crew stationed at St. Vincent's Hospital in lower Manhattan, the eerie foreshadowing of the coming disaster, and his encounter with a Middle Eastern man who offered a tarot card reading. Rella details how he and his partner arrived at Ground Zero just as the second tower collapsed and rescued a fire-fighter who was having a heart attack. The vivid descriptions of turf battles between paramedics and fire department personnel at Ground Zero and elsewhere will arouse controversy and interest.

"This charming little book offers students and professionals alike a chance to review their knowledge of pathophysiology in a simple and easy to use manner ... It summarises all key areas and offers the reader a quick questions and answers book which is unique in the paramedic literature world. A fantastic book." Ruth Lambert, Qualified Paramedic, UK Paramedics! Test yourself in Pathophysiology is the essential self-test resource to help paramedics revise and excel in their pathophysiology modules and exams.With over 250 questions, 60 glossary terms, fully explained answers and explanations, this book covers the most common presentations seen in the paramedic practice, accessible through: Multiple choice questions True or false questions Fill in the blank questions Labelling exercises An extensive glossary explains all the key terms and disease names Each main body system has its own chapter, so you can get in depth practice for your exams. Body systems covered include: Integumentary system Nervous system and special senses Cardiovascular system Digestive system Inflammation, infection and immunity Musculoskeletal system Endocrine system Respiratory system Urinary system Reproductive systems

"I very much like how quick and easy it is to access the salient points of care and what not to miss. Perfect for everyday use in any emergency department "-Ken Stackhouse, MBA, MSN, APRN, FNP-C, ENP-BC "The pocket NP guide is an easy to use clinical companion guiding the assessment diagnosis and treatment of common presentations to the emergency setting. I personally use this resource in my clinical practice and also recommend it to all of my students. I highly recommend the pocket NP guide for any practitioners working or thinking of working in the emergency setting."-Theresa Campo DNP, FNP-C, ENP-BC, FAANP Fast-track medical settings call for, at-your-fingertips' information. Here is an easy-to-use, quick-reference guide for nurse practitioners and otherhealth care providers in emergency, medical, screening, fast track, and/or primary care settings with pediatric patients. In a concise, optimally organizedformat that includes current, evidence-based guidelines, the resource delivers a wealth of information for assessment and management of the most commonlyencountered problems in these settings. Concise yet packed with crucial knowledge, The Pocket NP is arranged in a logical head-to-toe format that includes the history and physicalexamination and essential medical decision-making considerations. The material is organized in a true rapid-access format, with salient informationpresented for maximum efficiency and speed of retrieval. A variety of templates for dictation/documentation are provided to assist the clinician with thedevelopment of a concise and logical patient record. These templates can be mixed and matched as needed and, using a specific template for focused patientproblems (e.g., foreign body ingestion), will facilitate assessment fine tuning. Also included are frequently used illustrations for anatomical records aswell as templates to assist in identification of normal and abnormal presentations. Additional helpful features include 'Tips and Miss' boxes withbullet points of critical information, a rapid review of systems, billing information, and a dedicated page for NP, Survival Information' and notes. Key Features: Provides ultra-quick access to patient treatment information Offers easy-to-use framework for quickly locating critical information Presents templates for identifying normal and abnormal presentations Contains a rapid ' review of systems Delivers content in head-to-toe format Includes Tips and Miss boxes with bullet points of critical information

Sudden cardiac arrest is the leading cause of death among adults, yet it need not be fatal. Though survival in most communities is very poor, a few communities achieve rates as high as 50%. Why are some communities so successful in snatching life from the jaws of death? Resuscitate! describes the steps any EMS system can take to improve cardiac arrest survival. It is written for the medical directors, administrative directors, fire chiefs, dispatch directors, and program supervisor who direct and run EMS systems all across the country, and for the EMTs, paramedics, and dispatchers who provide frontline care. This second edition of Resuscitate! provides fifteen concrete steps to improve survival. Four steps will lead to rapid improvements at the local level and are relatively easy to implement. Six additional steps are more difficult to implement but also likely to improve survival. The remaining steps recommend changes at the national level. Resuscitate! is the official textbook for the Resuscitation Academy, held twice a year in Seattle. Cosponsored by Seattle Medic One, King County EMS, and the Medic One Foundation, the Academy draws attendees from throughout the world for two intensive days of classes, demonstrations, and workshops to acquire the knowledge and tools to improve survival in their own communities. This new edition includes lessons learned from attendees of the Academy as well as from the faculty's evolving thoughts on how to measure performance and improve survival, one community at a time. It also includes an addendum on the Resuscitation Academy (resuscitationacademy.org). For more than thirty years, Mickey S. Eisenberg M.D., Ph.D. , has played a leading role in developing King County, Washington's emergency response to cases of sudden cardiac arrest, a system recognized as among the very best in the nation. He is a professor of medicine at the University of Washington and serves as the medical director of King County Emergency Medical Services.

A valuable appraisal of current developments in the rapidly expanding field of allied health education is provided in these nine original articles by leaders in the field. Most of the articles examine specific areas of training -- programs for emergency medical technicians, nurse practitioners, rehabilitation counselors, respiratory therapists, dietitians, and social workers. Others are focused more generally on the burgeoning field of allied health education as a whole. This series seeks, through enlightened and descriptive commentary, to help bind the health professions into a true alliance, and to guide those entering training for careers of human service.

The book is your essential guide to becoming a paramedic, providing practical information and advice to help you achieve your qualification and get a job.

This compendium gives a comprehensive overview of the advances in fibrillation-defibrillation knowledge -- recognition of fibrillation as a unique life threatening cardiac arrhythmia; discovery of the electric discharge in its double role of culprit and savior; and technological improved contributions.The book stands on the well-known philosophy of Education-Based on Problems (or EBP), that is, take fibrillation as a medical daily problem and search for that knowledge, technique or principle trying to solve it.The book is interdisciplinary, multidisciplinary and transdisciplinary. It addresses undergraduate and graduate biomedical engineering students, physicians going into cardiology, clinical engineers and clinical engineering technicians, nurses, paramedics and emergency medical personnel.

The second edition of the American Academy of Pediatrics Textbook of Global Child Health is pleased to contribute toward international efforts to improve the lives of the next generation. This new edition will help prepare and support child health professionals as they join international efforts on behalf of children. A large multinational team of authors has joined together to produce the 2nd edition of this award-winning textbook, which focuses on 3 key areas: Foundational understanding of societal factors related to health and disease Appropriate care of children traveling internationally Clinical management of children in resource-limited areas New in the 2nd edition: 29 updated chapters and sections New chapters on cardiology, neurologic disorders, nephrology, emergency medicine and critical care, and hematology/oncology

Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.

This report explores the evolving role that hospital emergency departments play in the U.S. health care system. EDs evaluate and manage complex and high-acuity patients, are the major point of entry to inpatient care, and serve as "the safety net of the safety net" for patients who cannot get care elsewhere. The report examines the role that EDs may come to play in either contributing to or reducing the rising costs of health care.

In the devastation that follows a major disaster, there is a need for multiple sectors to unite and devote new resources to support the rebuilding of infrastructure, the provision of health and social services, the restoration of care delivery systems, and other critical recovery needs. In some cases, billions of dollars from public, private and charitable sources are invested to help communities recover. National rhetoric often characterizes these efforts as a "return to normal." But for many American communities, pre-disaster conditions are far from optimal. Large segments of the U.S. population suffer from preventable health problems, experience inequitable access to services, and rely on overburdened health systems. A return to pre-event conditions in such cases may be short-sighted given the high costs - both economic and social - of poor health. Instead, it is important to understand that the disaster recovery process offers a series of unique and valuable opportunities to improve on the status quo. Capitalizing on these opportunities can advance the long-term health, resilience, and sustainability of communities - thereby better preparing them for future challenges. Healthy, Resilient, and Sustainable Communities After Disasters identifies and recommends recovery practices and novel programs most likely to impact overall community public health and contribute to resiliency for future incidents. This book makes the case that disaster recovery should be guided by a healthy community vision, where health considerations are integrated into all aspects of recovery planning before and after a disaster, and funding streams are leveraged in a coordinated manner and applied to health improvement priorities in order to meet human recovery needs and create healthy built and natural environments. The conceptual framework presented in Healthy, Resilient, and Sustainable Communities After Disasters lays the groundwork to achieve this goal and provides operational guidance for multiple sectors involved in community planning and disaster recovery. Healthy, Resilient, and Sustainable Communities After Disasters calls for actions at multiple levels to facilitate recovery strategies that optimize community health. With a shared healthy community vision, strategic planning that prioritizes health, and coordinated implementation, disaster recovery can result in a communities that are healthier, more livable places for current and future generations to grow and thrive - communities that are better prepared for future adversities.

Helping Kids in Crisis: Managing Psychiatric Emergencies in Children and Adolescents provides expert guidance to practitioners responding to high-stakes situations, such as children considering or attempting suicide, cutting or injuring themselves purposely, and becoming aggressive or violently destructive. Children experiencing behavioral crises frequently reach critical states in venues that were not designed to respond to or support them -- in school, for example, or at home among their highly stressed and confused families. Professionals who provide services to these children must be able to quickly determine threats to safety and initiate interventions to deescalate behaviors, often with limited resources. The editors and authors have extensive experience at one of the busiest and best regional referral centers for children with psychiatric emergencies, and have deftly translated their expertise into this symptom-based guide to help non-psychiatric clinicians more effectively and compassionately care for this challenging population. The book is designed for ease of use and its structure and features are helpful and supportive: * The book is written for practitioners in hospital or community-based settings, including physicians in training, pediatricians who work in office-based or emergency settings, psychologists, social workers, school psychologists, guidance counselors, and school nurses -- professionals for whom child psychiatric resources are few.* Clear risk and diagnostic assessment tools allow clinicians working in settings without access to child mental health professionals to think like trained emergency room child psychiatrists--from evaluation to treatment. * The content is symptom-focused, enabling readers to swiftly identify the appropriate chapter, with decision trees and easy-to-read tables to use for quick de-escalation and risk assessment. * A guide to navigating the educational system, child welfare system, and other systems of care helps clinicians to identify and overcome systems-level barriers to obtain necessary treatment for their patients.* Finally, the book provides an extensive review of successful models of emergency psychiatric care from across the country to assist clinicians and hospital administrators in program design. An abundance of case examples of common emergency symptoms or behaviors provides professionals with critical, concrete tools for diagnostic evaluation, risk assessment, decision making, de-escalation, and safety planning. Helping Kids in Crisis: Managing Psychiatric Emergencies in Children and Adolescents is a vital resource for clinicians facing high-risk challenges on the front lines to help them intervene effectively, relieve suffering, and keep their young patients safe.

Trauma is a disease of epidemic proportions that preys on the young, killing more Americans up to age thirty-seven than all other afflictions combined. Every year an estimated 2.8 million people are hospitalized for injuries and more than 180,000 people die. We take for granted that no matter how or where we are injured, someone will call 911 and trained first responders will show up to insert IVs, stop the bleeding, and swiftly deliver us to a hospital staffed by doctors and nurses with the expertise necessary to save our lives. None of this happened on its own. Told through the eyes of a surgeon who has flown on rescue helicopters, resuscitated patients in trauma centers in Houston and Chicago, and operated on hundreds of trauma victims of all ages, Hurt takes us on a tour of the advancements in injury treatment from the battlefields of the Civil War to the state-of-the-art trauma centers of today.

JustCoding's Emergency Department Coding Handbook (Pack of 5)  Nena Scott, MSEd, RHIA, CCS, CCS-P, CCDS, AHIMA-approved ICD-10-CM/PCS trainer   This handbook is a quick reference guide for coders in emergency department (ED) settings. It guides coders through assigning visit levels and documentation requirements for a variety of common ED services. The handbook also includes anatomical illustrations for fractures.   Table of Contents:   Evaluation and Management Type A ED visit levels Type B ED visit levels    Integumentary System Anatomy of skin Incision and drainage   Debridement   Repair Simple   Intermediate   Complex   Burns, local treatment   Musculoskeletal System Introduction or removal Removal of foreign body   Injection (tendons, muscles, trigger point) Arthrocentesis   Fracture and/or dislocation anatomy and coding Definitions of common types and terms Skull Neck (soft tissues) and thorax   Shoulder    Humerus (upper arm) and elbow    Forearm and wrist    Hand and fingers    Pelvic and hip joint    Femur (thigh region) and knee joint    Lower leg and ankle joint   Foot and toes    Application of casts and strapping Respiratory System Nose Removal of foreign body

In Paramedics On and Off the Streets, Michael K. Corman embarks on an institutional ethnography of the complex, mundane, intricate, and exhilarating work of paramedics in Calgary, Alberta.

Preparedness, Response and Recovery Considerations for Children and Families is the summary of a workshop convened in June, 2013 by the Institute of Medicine Forum on Medical and Public Health Preparedness for Catastrophic Events to discuss disaster preparedness, response, and resilience relative to the needs of children and families, including children with special health care needs. Traditional and non-traditional medical and public health stakeholders from across federal, state, and local government health care coalitions, community organizations, school districts, child care providers, hospitals, private health care providers, insurers, academia, and other partners in municipal planning met to review existing tools and frameworks that can be modified to include children's needs; identify child-serving partners and organizations that can be leveraged in planning to improve outcomes for children; highlight best practices in resilience and recovery strategies for children; and raise awareness of the need to integrate children's considerations throughout local and state emergency plans. Communities across the United States face the threat of emergencies and disasters almost every day, natural and man-made, urban and rural, large and small. Although children represent nearly 25 percent of the U.S. population, current state and local disaster preparedness plans often do not include specific considerations for children and families. The preparedness and resilience of communities related to children will require a systems framework for disaster preparedness across traditional and non-traditional medical and public health stakeholders, including community organizations, schools, and other partners in municipal planning. This report examines resilience strategies that lead to successful recovery in children after a disaster and discusses current approaches and interventions to improve recovery in children.

A veteran paramedic decries the declining standards within the commercial ambulance corps and hospital emergency rooms. In a dramatic semi-autobiographical volume he points out several factors driving the decline (abuse and overwhelming of the system by Medicare/Medicaid patients and other non-emergency patients; and the way fiscal requirements distort how the services are run.