The study of patterns in the context of ontology engineering for the semantic web was pioneered more than a decade ago by Blomqvist, Sandkuhl and Gangemi. Since then, this line of research has flourished and led to the development of ontology design patterns, knowledge patterns, and linked data patterns: the patterns as they are known by ontology designers, knowledge engineers, and linked data publishers, respectively. A key characteristic of those patterns is that they are modular and reusable solutions to recurrent problems in ontology engineering and linked data publishing.This book contains recent contributions which advance the state of the art on theory and use of ontology design patterns. The papers collected in this book cover a range of topics, from a method to instantiate content patterns, a proposal on how to document a content pattern, to a number of patterns emerging in ontology modeling in various situations.
Beginning SharePoint 2013 Development by Steve Fox; Chris Johnson; Donovan Follette
Publication Date: 2013-01-31
A complete revision to a popular SharePoint developer'sresource Fully updated for SharePoint 2013, this book is an idealstarting place for SharePoint development. Covering all the majortopics that a new developer needs to know in order to get started,this resource contains 100 percent new content and addresses themajor overhaul to the SharePoint 2013 platform. The team ofauthors, led by Microsoft's Steve Fox, presents you with a detailedoverview that helps you establish a starting point for development.They then walk you through ways to advance your knowledge so thatyou leverage the new SharePoint 2013 features to build customsolutions. Addresses developing managed or unmanaged applications Provides an overview of Windows Azure for SharePoint Looks at common developer tasks in SharePoint 2013 Gets you started with building, packaging, and deployingSharePoint 2013 applications Highlights essential points of security in SharePoint 2013 Touching on everything from developing applications using Officeservices to development workflow applications, BeginningSharePoint 2013 Development covers everything you need to knowto start confidently working with the platform today.
This book consists of an easy-to-follow yet comprehensive set of step-by-step tutorials that will help you gain proficiency in the Force.com platform. If you have some experience with the Force.com platform and are looking to take your skills to the next level, this is the book for you.
How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site by Bruce C. Brown
Publication Date: 2006-01-12
Interested in promoting your business and/or Web site, but don't have the big budget for traditional advertising? This book shows you how to build, promote, and make money off of your Web site or brick and mortar store using the Internet, with minimal costs. It helps you learn how to generate more traffic for your site or store.
Design robust, powerful, and above all, modern websites across all manner of devices with ease using HTML5 and CSS3About This Book- Use Responsive Grid System, Bootstrap, and Foundation frameworks for responsive web design- Learn how to use the latest features of CSS including custom fonts, nth-child selectors (and some CSS4 selectors), CSS custom properties (variables), and CSS calc- Make a mobile website using jQuery mobile and mobile-first designWho This Book Is ForThis course is for web developers who are familiar with HTML and CSS but want to understand the essentials of responsive web design. It is for those developers who are willing to seek innovative techniques that deliver fast, intuitive interfacing with the latest mobile Internet devices.What You Will Learn- Build a semantic website structure with HTML5 elements- Use Bower to organize website dependencies- Make responsive media that is optimized for the specific device on which it's displayed, allowing images, videos, and other elements be fully appreciated- Make typography that's fluidly responsive, so it's easy to read on all devices-no more hard-to-see text on a tiny mobile screen- Get to know techniques for server-side and client-side media deployment, providing platforms that are scaled for any device that requests them In DetailResponsive web design is an explosive area of growth in modern web development due to the huge volume of different device sizes and resolutions that are now commercially available. The Internet is going mobile. Desktop-only websites just aren't good enough anymore. With mobile internet usage still rising and tablets changing internet consumption habits, you need to know how to build websites that will just "work," regardless of the devices used to access them. This Learning Path course explains all the key approaches necessary to create and maintain a modern responsive design using HTML5 and CSS3.Our first module is a step-by-step introduction to ease you into the responsive world, where you will learn to build engaging websites. With coverage of Responsive Grid System, Bootstrap, and Foundation, you will discover three of the most robust frameworks in responsive web design. Next, you'll learn to create a cool blog page, a beautiful portfolio site, and a crisp professional business site and make them all totally responsive.Packed with examples and a thorough explanation of modern techniques and syntax, the second module provides a comprehensive resource for all things "responsive." You'll explore the most up-to-date techniques and tools needed to build great responsive designs, ensuring that your projects won't just be built "right" for today, but in the future too.The last and the final module is your guide to obtaining full access to next generation devices and browser technology. Create responsive applications that make snappy connections for mobile browsers and give your website the latest design and development advantages to reach mobile devices. At the end of this course, you will learn to get and use all the tools you need to build and test your responsive web project performance and take your website to the next level.This Learning Path combines some of the best that Packt has to offer in one complete, curated package. It includes content from the following Packt products:- Responsive Web Design by Example: Beginner's Guide - Second Edition by Thoriq Firdaus- Responsive Web Design with HTML5 and CSS3 - Second Edition by Ben Frain- HTML5 and CSS3 Responsive Web Design Cookbook by Benjamin LaGroneStyle and approachThis Learning Path course provides a simplistic and easy way to build powerful, engaging, responsive, and future proof websites across devices using HTML5 and CSS3 to meet the demands of the modern web user.
iOS 7 Programming Pushing the Limits by Rob Napier; Mugunth Kumar
Publication Date: 2014-01-09
Get ready to create killer apps for iPad and iPhone on the new iOS 7! With Apple's introduction of iOS 7, demand for developers who know the new iOS will be high. You need in-depth information about the new characteristics and capabilities of iOS 7, and that's what you'll find in this book. If you have experience with C or C++, this guide will show you how to create amazing apps for iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. You'll also learn to maximize your programs for mobile devices using iPhone SDK 7.0. Advanced topics such as security services, running on multiple iPlatforms, and local networking with Core Bluetooth are also covered. Prepares experienced developers to create great apps for the newest version of Apple's iOS Thoroughly covers the serious capabilities of iOS 7; information you need in order to make your apps stand out Delves into advanced topics including how to control multitasking, security services, running apps on multiple iPlatforms and iDevices, enabling in-app purchases, advanced text layout, and building a core foundation Also covers REST, advanced GCD, internationalization and localization, and local networking with Core Bluetooth iOS 7 Programming: Pushing the Limits will help you develop applications that take full advantage of everything iOS 7 has to offer.
As part of the new Pocket Primer series, this book provides an overview of the major aspects, the source code, and tutorial videos to use jQuery. DVD with code, videos, and graphics included. Features:* Integrated coverage of CSS3, jQuery and other important JS toolkits * Covers jQuery Mobile and HTML5 hybrid mobile apps * Covers BackboneJS and Twitter Bootstrap * Includes companion DVD with source code, tutorial videos, and 4-color graphics
If you are a designer or developer who wants to quickly learn how to harness the power of Less.js to write more efficient CSS styles that can be applied to a website of any size, then this book is for you. This book will help you master both the basic functions and advanced features of Less.js. It would be helpful to have some familiarity of writing CSS styles, although no prior experience of using CSS preprocessors is required.
Magento Site Performance Optimization follows a handson, easytofollow approach, which focuses on the optimization of Magento's performance. Each chapter has a very logical flow, which makes the book readerfriendly. This book is written for Magento administrators who wish to optimize their store to increase performance, without spending thousands of dollars a year for the enterprise edition of Magento. It is noteworthy that Magento, as a project, comes with a gigantic code base and tools; however, the reader needs to be up for the challenge, ready to produce their own code to make the most of its code base.
This book shows you how to harness the power of linked data and web-scale discovery systems to manage and link widely varied content across your library collection. Libraries are increasingly using web-scale discovery systems to help clients find a wide assortment of library materials, including books, journal articles, special collections, archival collections, videos, music and open access collections. Depending on the library material catalogued, the discovery system might need to negotiate different metadata standards, such as AACR, RDA, RAD, FOAF, VRA Core, METS, MODS, RDF and more. In Managing Metadata in Web-Scale Discovery Systems, editor Louise Spiteri and a range of international experts show you how to: • maximize the effectiveness of web-scale discovery systems • provide a smooth and seamless discovery experience to your users • help users conduct searches that yield relevant results • manage the sheer volume of items to which you can provide access, so your users can actually find what they need • maintain shared records that reflect the needs, languages, and identities of culturally and ethnically varied communities • manage metadata both within, across, and outside, library discovery tools by converting your library metadata to linked open data that all systems can access • manage user generated metadata from external services such as Goodreads and LibraryThing • mine user generated metadata to better serve your users in areas such as collection development or readers'advisory. The book will be essential reading for cataloguers, technical services and systems librarians and library and information science students studying modules on metadata, cataloguing, systems design, data management, and digital libraries. The book will also be of interest to those managing metadata in archives, museums and other cultural heritage institutions.
Mastering Type by Denise Bosler
Publication Date: 2012-05-16
Good Design, Down to the Letter Packages on store shelves, posters on building walls, pages of a website--all contain information that needs to be communicated. And at the heart of that communication is type: visually interesting, interactive, expressive and captivating. Each letter must come alive; therefore, each letter must be carefully crafted or chosen. A solid foundation in typography, as well as an understanding of its nuances, will help you optimize your visual communication--in whatever form it takes. By breaking down the study of type into a systematic progression of relationships--letter, word, sentence, paragraph, page and screen--award-winning graphic designer and professor of communication design Denise Bosler provides a unique and illuminating perspective on typography for both print and digital media and for designers of all skill levels. Through instruction, interviews and real-world inspiration, Mastering Type explores the power of each typographic element--both as it stands alone and as it works with other elements--to create successful design, to strengthen your skill set and to inspire your next project.
Design and deliver an optimal user experience for all devicesAbout This Book- Get to grips with the core functionality of RWD through examples- Discover how to make layouts, content and media flexible, and explore why a content-first approach is more effective- Maximize the performance of your web pages so that they work across all browsers and devices irrespective of the screen sizeWho This Book Is ForThis book is for web designers who are familiar with HTML and CSS, and want to begin with responsive web design. Web development experience and knowledge of HTML5, CSS3 is assumed.What You Will Learn - Explore various layout options- Understand what can be achieved in the browser, without the use of third-party tools- Executing media queries to benefit responsive designs- Understand the basics of responsive workflow and boilerplate frameworks- Improve performance of responsive web design- Maintain compatibility across various browsers In DetailResponsive web design (RWD) is a web design approach aimed at crafting sites to provide an optimal viewing and interaction experience-providing easy reading and navigation with minimum resizing, panning, and scrolling-and all of this across a wide range of devices from desktop computer monitors to mobile phones. Responsive web design is becoming more important as the amount of mobile traffic now accounts for more than half of the Internet's total traffic.This book will give you in depth knowledge about the basics of responsive web design. You will embark on a journey of building effective responsive web pages that work across a range of devices, from mobile phones to smart TVs, with nothing more than standard markup and styling techniques.You'll begin by getting an understanding of what RWD is and its significance to the modern web. Building on the basics, you'll learn about layouts and media queries. Following this, we'll dive into creating layouts using grid based templates. We'll also cover the important topic of performance management, and discover how to tackle cross-browser challenges.Style and approach This is a practical example-based book which will delve into various elements and benefits of a responsive web design. It will help you understand the essential skills needed to create responsive web sites and guide you through the basics of building responsive web pages for any device. The topics are a blend of theoretical and practical essentials which will assist you to explore more about responsive web design.
Starting Your Career as a Freelance Web Designer by Neil Tortorella
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Break out of the cubicle and gain the business savvy you need to launch your own freelance web design business with Starting Your Career as a Freelance Web Designer! Written by seasoned pro Neil Tortorella, this book guides web designers step-by-step down the path to success and helps them avoid common pitfalls. Jam-packed with practical know-how, this book also contains the wisdom and advice of noted industry authorities and business leaders. Readers will learn how to draft a solid business plan, negotiate contracts, manage time and money, deal with taxes, manage projects and clients, determine rates, and create winning proposals.
The Unity engine game development tool is a multi-platform engine and editor rolled into one. It is an ideal development tool for independent developers and students, and many pro studios turn to it for fast prototyping. Unity allows developers to create a single game and release it on many platforms including Android, iOS, and the web. This completely updated edition of GAME DEVELOPMENT WITH UNITY is a tutorial-style guide that provides a complete overview of the Unity editor along with step-by-step projects covering every basic functional aspect, from asset importing to publishing. Each chapter includes tutorials and small assignments geared toward making a larger game. You will learn the basics of design and level theory and prototyping concepts in the virtual world. You will also learn how to polish and publish your finished game. A companion website features software, sample levels, source code and more. Start learning Unity today with GAME DEVELOPMENT WITH UNITY, SECOND EDITION.
If you are a system or application developer interested in learning how to solve practical problems using the Hadoop framework, then this book is ideal for you. This book is also meant for Hadoop professionals who want to find solutions to the different challenges they come across in their Hadoop projects.
Nicole Engard follows up her highly-regarded 2009 book with a fresh collection of mashup projects that virtually any library can emulate, customize, and build upon. In More Library Mashups, Engard and 24 creative library professionals describe how they are mashing up free and inexpensive digital tools and techniques to improve library services and meet everyday (and unexpected) challenges. Examples from libraries of all types are designed to help even non-programmers share and add value to digital content, update and enhance library websites and collections, mash up catalog data, connect to the library's automation system, and use emerging tools like Serendip-o-matic, Umlaut, and Libki to engage users, staff, and the community.