LibGuides: Statistics: Articles

Articles from Databases

What are Journal Articles?

Journal Articles are stored in Databases. Databases are like electronic filing cabinets.

Researchers write articles about their research and then publish them in Academic Journals. Then these Journals are available through Databases that the library purchases for your use.

Why use Databases? Why not just Google the information?

Anyone can publish on the internet. They may or may not know their topic. In order to publish in a Journal, you must be an expert and meet specific standards in your area of expertise.

This means that you can trust what you read in a Journal Article.

Best Databases to Begin

Credo This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference ebooks. Provides a depth of information on a large range of subjects, including a Mind Map which gives user a visual representation of how the topic relates to other topics.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
General Interest Database by EBSCO covering a wide array of different topics

Best Databases for Statistics

Business Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Business Economics and Theory Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association'sEconLit bibliography.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community.Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Global is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare globaleconomies, countries and industries.
Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems,health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Insurance and Liability Collection This link opens in a new window
Insurance and Liability Collection provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.

Statistics

Library Passwords

Empirical Articles

Need help?