Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning Technology

This 2-volumes set contains selected and peer-review papers in the subject areas of engineering thermo physics, applied thermal engineering, power machinery and engineering, fluid engineering and machinery, HVAC, air conditioning and refrigeration, power system and automation, high voltage and insulation technology, motor and electrical, electrical engineering principles and applications, power electronics and power drives, smart grid technologies, power system management.

Collection of Selected, Peer Reviewed Papers from the 4th International Conference on Energy, Environment and Sustainable Development (EESD 2014), October 25-26, 2014, Nanjing, China. the 387 Papers are Grouped as Follows: Chapter 1: Development and Utilization of Solar Energy; Chapter 2: Development and Utilization of Biomass Energy; Chapter 3: Development and Utilization of Wind Energy; Chapter 4: Nuclear Energy and other Energy; Chapter 5: Energy-Saving and Energy-Storage Technology; Chapter 6: Energy Chemical Engineering, Energy Materials and Fuel Cell; Chapter 7: Power System and Automation; Chapter 8: High Voltage Equipment and Insulation Technology; Chapter 9: Electrical Machines and Apparatus, Power Drives; Chapter 10: Smart Grid and Microgrid Technologies; Chapter 11: Power Systems Management; Chapter 12: Electrotechnics, Low Voltage Electronics and Power Supply; Chapter 13: New Energy Vehicles and Electric Vehicles; Chapter 14: Engineering Thermodynamics and Thermal Engineering in Designing of Energy Equipment; Chapter 15: Details and Units of Power Machines; Chapter 16: Fluids and Flow Engineering in Designing of Energy Machines; Chapter 17: HVAC, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration; Chapter 18: Computer Applications and Mathematical Modeling.

Whether you are an HVAC and R system designer, architect, building owner, building manager/operator, or contractor charged with designing a green building, ASHRAE GreenGuide aims to help you answer your biggest question - What do I do now? Using an integrated, building systems perspective, it gives you the need-to-know information on what to do, where to turn, what to suggest, and how to interact with other members of the design team in a productive way. Information is provided on each stage of the building process, from planning to operation and maintenance of a facility, with emphasis on teamwork and close coordination among interested parties. This fourth edition of ASHRAE GreenGuide is an easy-to-use reference with information on almost any subject that should be considered in green-building design. The GreenTips found throughout this edition highlight techniques, processes, measures, or special systems in a concise, often bulleted, format. Also, information is provided in dual units - Inch-Pound (I-P) and International System (SI) - so that the content is easily applicable worldwide. References and resources mentioned are listed at the end of each chapter for easy access.

Newly revised and edited, this eighth edition includes significant updates to energy management controls systems, commissioning, measurement and verification, and high performance green buildings. Also updated are chapters on motors and drives, HVAC systems, lighting, alternative energy systems, building envelope, performance contracting and natural gas purchasing. Also included is invaluable material on boilers and steam systems, heat recovery, cogeneration, insulation, thermal energy storage, indoor air quality, utility rates and deregulation, economic analysis, energy systems maintenance and many other subjects essential to effective energy management. Detailed illustrations, tables, graphs and other helpful working aids are provided. This comprehensive handbook has become recognized as the definitive stand-alone energy manager's desk reference, used by thousands of energy management professionals throughout the industry.

Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the Second International Conference on Green Building, Materials and Civil Engineering (GBMCE 2013), August 21-23, 2013, Taiwan. The 401 papers are grouped as follows: Chapter 1: Architecture and Landscape Design, Residential, Regional and Urban Planning, Sustainable City and Ecological Planning; Chapter 2: Environmental Energy, Protection, Technologies and Engineering, Emission Control; Chapter 3: Outdoor, Indoor Engineering and Design, HVAC Technologies; Chapter 4: Materials Engineering and Technologies, Materials in Industrial Processes; Chapter 5: Building Materials and Technologies; Chapter 6: Green Building and Engineering; Chapter 7: Energy Saving Building and Technologies, Photovoltaic and Solar Energy Applications, Energy Control; Chapter 8: Civil Engineering Technologies; Chapter 9: Construction Dynamics, Stability and Strength, Geotechnical and Seismic Engineering; Chapter 10: Modelling and Simulation Technologies; Chapter 11: Project Management and Marketing, Assessment and Safety.

A good IAQ investigator is calm, observant, thorough, and discerning. They should be skilled in knowing what questions to ask, have knowledge of building systems, and possess a willingness to engage the public promptly and communicate results clearly to all involved parties. This guide discusses the initial investigation, a HVAC overview and inspection, considerations for special indoor environments, risk communication, and report preparation. Eleven appendices are also included, providing the reader with guidelines, checklists, and forms to assist in their investigations.

Thoroughly revised, this book will provide the reader with an understanding of the principles and practices of testing and balancing (TAB) heating, ventilating and air conditioning (HVAC) air and water systems. For the novice and the experienced testing and balancing technician, it is a field reference book of procedures, equations and information tables. Divided into five parts, Part I has general and specific balancing procedures for constant air volume systems, variable air volume systems, return air systems, and fans and fan performance. Part II covers testing and balancing fume hood systems and cleanrooms, commissioning HVAC systems, centrifugal pumps and pump performance, analog and digital controls and water balancing procedures using flow meters, system components and temperatures. Part III covers fans, pumps, air distribution, water distribution, motors, electrical, fluid flow, psychrometrics, refrigeration and instrument usage and care. Part IV includes equations and tables. New to this edition, Part V has information and additional test and balance procedures and graphics for chapters 1-7 and 13-14. TAB Data and Test forms are in the new addendum as well.

Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the 2013 2nd International Conference on Energy and Environmental Protection (ICEEP 2013), April 19-21, 2013, Guilin, China. The papers are grouped as follows: Chapter 1: Thermal and Heat Engineering; Chapter 2: Power Machinery and Engineering; Chapter 3: Fluid Engineering and Machinery; Chapter 4: HVAC, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration; Chapter 5: Power System, Control and Automation; Chapter 5: Power System, Control and Automation; Chapter 6: High Voltage and Insulation Technology; Chapter 7: Motor and Electrical; Chapter 8: Power Electronics and Power Drives; Chapter 9: Smart Grid Technologies; Chapter 10: Power System Management.