Digital, Social & Broadcast Productions

The mission of The Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC) is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications, and online access to its resources. The MBC is an Illinois non-profit corporation that owns and manages two subsidiaries, museum.tv and the National Radio Hall of Fame (NRHOF). The Museum of Broadcast Communications is one of only three museums dedicated to broadcast history in the nation. MBC is home to America s only National Radio Hall of Fame Gallery. Our 62,000 square foot facility is located at 360 North State Street (at Kinzie) next door to Harry Caray s Italian Steakhouse and Hotel Chicago. This large space allows the Museum to expand its collections and serve a wide range of audiences

The American Press Institute is a national 501(c)3 nonprofit educational organization affiliated with the News Media Alliance. It works with and draws on the best ideas from anyone working in news publishing and journalism and anyone interested in its mission of making journalism sustainable.

The Federal Communications Commission regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. An independent U.S. government agency overseen by Congress, the Commission is the federal agency responsible for implementing and enforcing America’s communications law and regulations.

Founded in 1975, Poynter is an inspirational place but also a practical one, connecting the varied crafts of journalism to its higher mission and purpose. From person-to-person coaching and intensive hands-on seminars to interactive online courses and media reporting, Poynter helps journalists sharpen skills and elevate storytelling throughout their careers.

Presented by the Society of Professional Journalists, the Journalist's Toolbox features quality Web resources helpful to reporters and editors or anyone doing media research. The search engine locates information from a variety of news related topics, and current topics are listed on the opening page. Includes the Center for Public Integrity's comprehensive, searchable database of federal lobbying documents.

An international magazine of cultural criticism. Covers television, music, film, books, video games, computer software, theater, visual arts, and the internet.

Investigative Reporters and Editors (IRE) "provides educational services to reporters, editors and others interested in investigative journalism and works to maintain high professional standards." Their Resource Center provides searchable citations/summaries to over 20,000 investigative stories plus conference and training information. Includes a Campaign Finance Information Center. Much of the site's resources are available only to members.

Robert Niles, a writer who does a "Find It" column for the Los Angeles Times, is also self-described as "a long-time math and computer geek." His web page links to websites that help journalists in need of ready reference, mostly statistical.

Although the issues explored at this website involve all aspects of the First Amendment (including broader issues of free speech, religion, assembly, petition, etc.), freedom of the press is covered extensively. Includes a glossary and searchable texts of Supreme Court cases.

The Polling Report offers the results of recent surveys on political, business, and other current issues by polling organizations like Harris, Princeton, and Gallup.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.

Gallup, Inc., is an American management consulting company. Founded by George Gallup in 1935, the company became known for its public opinion polls. It provides research and strategic consulting to large organizations in many countries.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys.